Since my besties were making the trip to see me for my birthday, the least I could do was have dinner waiting for them!  I found this recipe on eatingwell.com and adapted it to what I had on hand.  It was so easy to throw together, especially with my friend Whitney’s help, and I have found you can’t go wrong with Mexican!  All the girls enjoyed it Friday night..and I myself enjoyed the leftovers cold on Saturday night 🙂

Black Bean Mexican Casserole

Serves: 8

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 medium zucchini, finely diced
  • 1.5 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1.5 cups frozen corn, defrosted
  • 1 14-ounce can diced tomatoes, juice drained
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 6-8 high fiber tortillas
  • 1 19 ounce can enchilada sauce
  • 1 cup shredded Mexican style cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.  Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat, spray with cooking spray, and add chopped onion.  Saute a few minutes until soft, then add in diced zucchini and sauté a few more minutes.
  3. Add the black beans, diced tomatoes, corn, cumin, and garlic powder to the skillet and continue to cook stirring occasionally for about 5 minutes.
  4. Layer half the tortillas in the 9×13 pan, top with half of the bean/veggie mix, half the enchilada sauce and a handful of cheese.  Repeat this layering, starting with a layer of tortillas, then veggies, enchilada sauce, and cheese. (I had extra bean/veggies which wouldn’t fit so I just saved them for later!)
  5. Top with foil and cook in oven for 15 minutes.  Remove the foil and continue to bake 10 minutes until it is bubbly and delicious looking.

I served this with chips, salsa, and a quick tossed salad with cucumbers and tomatoes.  The girls provided the wine and margaritas 🙂

Post-dinner pinata is optional but highly recommended