Oh the Paleo diet.  It’s quite the trend for many weight lifters and crossfitters.  I feel hip just saying that “I am eating Paleo.” But what is it all about?

Well the Paleolithic way of eating is based on eating like our ‘ancestors’ who did not have access to modern food conveniences.  There are optimal foods to eat and non-optimal foods.

Optimal Foods:

-vegetables

-fruits

-lean animal protein

-fish

-nuts and seeds

Non-optimal Foods:

-grains

-legumes

-dairy

-anything packaged/processed

Yeah, take a look at that ‘non-optimal’ food list again…pretty much my current diet there.

Here is a good visual of the “Paleo Food Pyramid”

source

But this month long adventure in eating is all about trying new things so here goes nothing!  I’ll be trying my darndest to eat Paleo this week.

Do I believe in the theory behind the Paleo diet?  No.  Do I think it is the optimal way to eat long-term?  No.  Am I trying to keep an open mind when I eat Paleo this week?  Yes.

There are a TON of websites, blogs, and books out there about the Paleo diet.  A few I’ve found helpful already…

Fit Bomb featuring a great article about what Paleo is all about

His wife blogs more about food and recipes over at Nom Nom Paleo

Multiply Delicious with a ton of recipes, info about Paleo, and links to other websites

Going into eating Paleo, I am fairly confident in finding meals for lunch and dinner.  Lots of lean meats and veggies, sounds delicious.  I am worried about what to eat for breakfast.  They recommend you limit eggs and of course I can’t have a bowl of oatmeal or cereal.  Time to do some research and get creative.  As far as getting carbs, I’m not too concerned as they are in a lot of vegetables and sweet potatoes are “allowed” after endurance activities.

Meal Ideas for the Week

Breakfast

-Omelets

-Fruit and almond butter

Paleo apple cinnamon breakfast cookies

Almond Flour Pancakes

Lunch/Dinner

-Veggies, veggies, and lots of veggies

-Salad with veggies

-Lean chicken, beef, shrimp, etc

-Stir-fry…with veggies

Snacks

-Fruits/veggies

-Nuts

-Almond butter

-Lara bars

So Paleo eating started bright and early this morning.  I decided to go the easy route and sautéed up some mushrooms and frozen spinach with 2 fried eggs.  I also ate some microwaved frozen broccoli on the side.  Random but I felt like I needed some extra oomph to my breakfast.

I, of course, also had some coffee with unsweetened almond breeze.  Is this Paleo?  I mean it is made from almonds (Paleo approved) so I hope so!

I met up with my friend Elizabeth and we went hiking at Massanutten.  Since I am doing the paleolithic diet I figured I should act like a cave man and crawl around in the woods.

Kidding.  Paleo joke.

beautiful views

beautiful friend.

It was a great hike and as we encountered Bambi I had second thoughts about my paleo meat eating.

Hello pretty, would you like to be lunch?

Kidding.  Bad paleo joke again.

But seriously.

One of my favorite local restaurants Clementine’s has a sister-restaurant close to Massanutten, Thunderbird Cafe.  I scooped out the menu ahead of time (like I said, always good when you are eating restricted).  The menu looked amazing and they served breakfast all day. I got a little depressed ordering a cobb salad without blue cheese with a side of Italian dressing (paleo dressing? idk!). I had to pass on the pancakes, burritos, and other specialty dishes.

I cheered up when I got my salad!  The chicken was grilled to perfection, vegetables were all fresh, lettuce was crisp, bacon was crispy but not overly greasy, and the dressing was delicious

 

I love Paleo.

Okay and then 20 minutes later I was hungry again.

I hate Paleo.

I ate an apple.

I got my Foodie Penpal package (more on this later!!!) and ate some of that.

I hate Paleo.

I went grocery shopping and ate half a bag of baby carrots.

I came home and went for a run.

Dinner time.  Finally. Time to get creative.

 

Coconut Almond Paleo Chicken

serves 2

Ingredients

-1 egg white

-1/8 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

-1/4 cup almond meal

-2 T crushed slivered almonds

-2 chicken breasts

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray a pan with non-stick spray.

2. Prepare a small dish with the egg white and a second small dish with the coconut, almond meal, and slivered almonds.

3. Dip the chicken in the egg white and then coat with the coconut/almond meal mix.  Place on your baking sheet.

4.  Bake for 20-25 minutes (until chicken breasts are cooked through).

 

I served this with some steamed broccoli which I coated with coconut oil and some more shredded coconut.

Mm I wish you had smell-a-screen…the coconut smelled so good!  And tasted delicious too, obvi.  Maybe Paleo isn’t all that bad?!

By the way, beer is not Paleo approved either so meeting Rachel and Elizabeth for drinks tonight turned into me drinking water.  The company made it for it though!

Quite a first day on the Paleo diet.  I don’t know if this will even be lasting all week.  I know that those who love the Paleo diet say the first few weeks can be the hardest as your body adjusts, but I just don’t think I am willing to give myself that time and effort into something I don’t truly believe in. I love the idea of whole foods and lots of vegetables and no added sugars but I also really love whole grains.  Like a lot.

 

Have you ever gone Paleo?  Thoughts?  Advice?!

 

