Hello!

How was everyone’s Memorial Day weekend?!

I can’t believe it’s Tuesday today.  Ever since graduation I have no concept of time.  Usually Tuesday/Wednesday are my ‘weekend’ off work at the restaurant but I picked up a shift tonight.  Woah is me Just kidding.

Even with work this weekend, I got to spend a lot of time at the pool in my apartment community, a cookout Sunday night, and a couple runs (the gym was closed UGH).  I hit the road at 8:30 both mornings but it was already blazing hot outside.  It almost felt like I was out running at the beach…minus the ocean, and the sand, and the cool breeze.  So basically it was just hot.

With the end of gluten-free eating this past weekend, it has been nice to just ”eat what I want!” including Kline’s ice cream, cheddar chex mix, some smoothies post-run, and this delicious tofu dish.  It couldn’t have been easier.

Fire Roasted Tofu and Broccoli

Serves 2

Ingredients

-1/2 block of extra firm tofu (I used Twin Oaks Fine Herb and would highly recommend it)

-1/2 sweet onion, sliced

-1 cup steamed broccoli

-1 can Fire Roasted tomatoes

-olive oil

-seasonings to taste: salt, pepper, garlic powder, oregano, red pepper flakes

Directions

1. Press tofu with paper towels or dish towel to remove extra water if needed.  (Twin Oaks tofu is extra firm and doesn’t really need this step!)

2. Meanwhile, sauté the onion over medium high heat in a bit of olive oil until it begins to soften.

3. Dice tofu into cubes and add into the pan with the onion along with the pre-cooked broccoli.  (I used leftover steamed broccoli or you could just heat some frozen broccoli and add it to the pan!)

4. After the tofu has browned a bit, add in your can of fire roasted tomatoes and seasonings to taste.

5.  Voila, that’s all!

 

It just shows that you don’t need a lot of ingredients or fancy cooking skills to make a healthy meal.

My month long adventure of dieting continues, but I’ve decided to take a little break this week.  I’ve revised my ‘schedule’ and will not be starting Paleo this week.  I know, I know, don’t get too upset! 

I didn’t really have enough time to plan things out this weekend, what with me being at the pool and all, AND I have my triathlon Sunday and want to feel my best for that SO I’ll be starting Paleo next week.  It will be here before we know it, I promise.

This week I’ll just be eating normally (whatever that is) but I’ll still be posting lots of recipes, workouts, and any odd updates and stories you need to know.

Speaking of workouts, I’ve been so haphazard about my triathlon ‘training’ this spring.  If you are new to the sport, I would definitely recommend actually following a training plan but I guess since I’ve been doing these a few years it just doesn’t take the same sort of planning.  I will be tapering towards the end of the week to get my body ready for Sunday.  Here is what I am thinking:

Monday (yesterday): ran 7 miles (felt like 27), ab work

Tuesday: back/biceps, swim

Wednesday: chest/triceps, trail run?

Thursday: shoulders/abs, swim

Friday: short bike ride or low-key swim

Saturday: off

Sunday: TRI.

This plan is very loosely based as I haven’t been in touch with any of my fitness friends about what days we can meet for runs/bike rides but expect the weights to stay the same with a couple of swims and a bike ride and run.   Good enough.

 

Do you taper for races?  I definitely take the day off, or two, beforehand but probably should do more tapering!

Are you a planner?  I am at times but not others (is that annoying?!).

What was the best thing you ate this weekend?  Mine was Klines: peanut butter oreo ice cream…oh baby!

 

 

 

