I hate to be the bearer of bad news but “gluten-free” week here at AAH has ended.  A bit anti-climatic I know.

Due to the realities of life (ie my work schedule this weekend and lack of planning in the food department) I ended up eating some bread (gasp!), cereal, and other gluten this weekend.  In the few days I was eating gluten-free, I definitely learned a lot and caught a glimpse of how much planning it would take to eat a truly gluten-free diet.

I’ll be honest, gluten-free was hard for me.  Harder than I thought it would be.   I definitely think there are a ton of gluten-free grains (like quinoa, buckwheat, brown rice) and it was fun to experiment with them, like my gluten-free buckwheat bake, gluten-free savory hot cereal, waffles, strawberry salad, and more! But I missed my oatmeal and bread (gluten-free bread was a bit too pricey for me to justify) and it was hard to eat gluten-free at events (like my cousin’s graduation cookout).

Thankfully most grocery stores and packaged foods specify “gluten-free” making it easier to shop for foods.  In a way, there are a ton of gluten-free products out there but at the same time it definitely is limiting and can get very expensive quick!

Physically/emotionally I did not feel any different or better not eating gluten.  Eating both vegan and gluten-free actually just made me feel hungrier, like something was missing all the time….oh like gluten and animal products…Not really a good hungry feeling.

I’ve given myself these past few days off any ‘diet experiments’ (if you are new to AAH, you can read about my idea here!) and might revise my schedule for my month-long diet adventures.  I might go ahead and try Paleo this week after the holiday, then give myself a couple of days meat-free eating before venturing into a raw diet for a few days.  Whatd’yda think?!

 

Well I’m off to cook-out tonight!  I don’t know what tomorrow will hold but I hope it will involve a lot of time outside, potentially at the pool 🙂

I hope you’re enjoying your holiday weekend with lots of adventures and good eats!

 

What was the best thing you ate this weekend?!

 

 

