Ahh yes Friday is here and just in time for a big holiday weekend!

Ahh to remember that Friday is just the beginning of my ‘work week’ which includes a shift tonight, double tomorrow, lunch Sunday, and dinner shift Monday.

Ahhh Friday.

But with the amount of free-time I get, this girl can’t complain!  Especially when it gives me time to enjoy a trail run yesterday with my friend Erin, bike ride with Erin and Jill today, and plenty of blogging and cooking time too!

For those of you who have closely been following my workout/fitness schedule, you’ve probably already realized that I:

A. have not been on an actual bike (minus spin class) since…um…last fall..sometime…

B. have a triathlon next Sunday in which I will be needing to ride a bike

Better late than never!

We enjoyed a great 20 mile ride out in the country.  Beautiful (hot) weather, lots of cows, and my butt bones felt it the whole way.  I think being back on the bike takes some getting used to but I was reminded why I love it.  I’ll definitely get back out on the road more, especially since I have another international distance triathlon July 1st.

I fueled this morning with a new-to-me gluten-free “Might Tasty Hot Cereal”.  It’s made by Bob’s Red Mill and is a mix of brown rice, corn, sorghum, and buckwheat.

Per 1/4 cup it has: 150 calories, 31 g carbs, 4 g fiber, 0 g sugar, and 4 g of protein.

It gave instructions for cooking a ‘batch’ of it, but I only wanted 1 serving so I just winged it and threw 1/4 cup dry mix in a pot with 1 cup of water.  It seemed to need to cook longer than regular rolled oats so I cooked it over medium heat for about 10 minutes, adding water along the way as it thickened (so maybe 1 1/2 cups – 2 cups total).

The finished product…

It tasted like grits, only a bit heartier.  I’m not one to eat things ‘plain’ so I decided to go the savory hot cereal route.  I got the idea of cheesy grits in my head, so I added some cooked peas and spinach, and a heavy helping of nutritional yeast.

YUM.

It was no eggs-n’oatmeal (my favorite combo) but it was a filling breakfast and a good way to get some veggies!

I’ve been crushing coffee lately in the morning so I had one two cups with unsweetened vanilla almond breeze and spent the morning on the computer before the bike ride.  I’ve been enjoying the nice little patio out front of my apartment when I’m on my computer.  It’s nicely shaded so even when its hot, it still makes for a great place to sit outside.

I almost forgot (till I looked through my camera) that I also made some more tofu yogurt this morning.  This time: blueberry.

Blueberry Banana Tofu Yogurt

In a blender combine:

-5 ounces soft tofu

-3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

-1/3 cup frozen blueberries

-1/2 small banana

-1 T chia seeds (optional)

Blend Blend Blend.

I topped mine with some shredded coconut and sliced almonds

I think I liked it better than the raspberry version.

 

I’ve gotta get ready for work…enjoy your holiday weekend!

 

Let me live vicariously through you…what are your fun weekend plans?!

 

 

