What a big “spa day” my mom and I had yesterday as her belated mother’s day gift. Where to begin…?

Ah the morning.

The day started with a quick walk of the dogs (dog duties don’t end on spa day) and we got home so I could make waffles.  Not just any waffles…vegan gluten-free waffles.  Don’t they sound yummy?  No?  You are right.  But thankfully they WERE yummy.

I found some recipes online and came up with this…

Vegan Gluten-Free Blueberry Waffles

 

Ingredients:

1 flax egg (1 T milled flax-seed and 3 T water)

1.5 cups gluten-free flour

1/2 cup almond meal

1 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

3 T unsweetened applesauce

1/2 t baking soda

1 t cinnamon

dash of salt

1 cup blueberries

Directions:

1. Prepare the f lax-egg by combining 1 T milled flax-seed and 3 T water in a small bowl.  Let sit for about 5 minutes to gel.

2. In the meantime, mix the flour, almond meal, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

3.  Mix in the almond breeze and applesauce.  Add the flax-egg after the mixture has gelled.  Stir in the blueberries.

4.  Make the waffles in a heated/greased waffle iron until browned.

The waffles tasted really good!  They weren’t too heavy but they were filling.  Thankfully my mom liked them too. I’ve had some unsuccessful ‘healthy’ attempts in the kitchen and I always get a little bit nervous with new recipes.

Blueberry goodness.

We let our breakfast digest by indulging in a homemade face mask. Yep…that is what the mystery mix was yesterday…

Oatmeal Banana Honey Face Mask – for 2

1. Combine in a bowl:

-1 small mashed banana

-1/2 cup quick cook raw oats

-2 T honey

-liquid from 2 capsules Vitamin E (optional)

2. Pat on face and leave on for 15-20 minutes

g-l-a-m-o-r-o-u-s…flying first class…fergie anyone?

3. Watch out for small dogs enjoying your face mask too.

Chloe!  Silly girlie.

As I eluded to earlier, this ‘recipe’ is not gluten-free OR vegan, but it would be perfectly suitable for eating!  My mom and I joked that if it didn’t work out as a face mask, we would simple throw in some baking soda and call it cookie dough.  It did leave our skin nice and soft and we both agree we look 10 years younger.  obviously.

 

Once our waffles were digested, we hit up the gym.  Nothing like a good sweat to relax you.

For lunch, we made simple salads.

Strawberry Chickpea Quinoa Salad

-Salad mix

-Quinoa

-Cucumber

-Strawberries

-Chickpeas

-Chopped pecans

-Splashes of red wine vinegar

-Splashes of balsamic vinegar

-Sprinkle of poppy seeds

With a side of carrots and hummus.

The relaxing did not end there though and we treated ourselves to pedicures.

Some errands, some leftovers for a snack (I ate the rest of the tempeh black bean filling) and mom and I were on our way again.  I thought spa day was supposed to be relaxing?! 

For dinner, we met our friends Lynn and Becky at local Hollywood’s Cafe.  Knowing my current dietary limitations, I looked at their menu ahead of time to know my options for dinner.

I came up with their black beans and rice (sans cheese) with a side salad. I forgot to take a picture and let’s be honest a big pile of black beans is not always that pretty looking.  At first the beans seemed a little bland but I asked for a side of their homemade salsa and that did the trick…perfect kick!  The meal was filling though and I was just thankful to have a gf/vegan meal.

The night ended with some brown bag popcorn and an episode of Ellen.  Perfect.  Okay, perfect might have been the soft serve ice cream cone I was craving after dinner but this was a close second.

All-in-all…I would call ‘spa day 2012’ a huge success.  Nothing like a good trip home!

 

Do you all get nervous making new recipes for family or friends?  Do you put more pressure on yourself if you are making them something new and “healthy”?!

 

 

 

