So gluten-free week is here and I quickly realized things are getting a bit tricky here.  Diet restrictions are tough!  (For those of you with celiac’s diease or other food intolerances you are probably laughing to yourself thinking, yes Anna, duh)

Anyway, I was bummed to realize yesterday that my beloved Ezekiel bread is NOT gluten-free (I didn’t know if it was, I was just hoping) and the new vegan granola bar I got last week was not gluten-free.  Hmm.  What to eat?

Let’s start with breakfast yesterday.   I had leftover ground buckwheat flour (GF!) so I found Ashley’s recipe for Ba-nilla Breakfast Buckwheat Bake and sang praises for a GF/vegan recipe I had the ingredients for.

As with most of my recipes, I mostly followed her directions (did I mention I can’t find the measuring spoons in my new apartment? ha, nothing like winging it!).

I didn’t have any raw buckwheat groats left so I just added a bit more ground buckwheat, omitted the maple syrup and almond extract but added some shredded coconut to the ‘batter’.

“Baked” in the microwave for about 2 minutes.

Beautiful.

Lunch was leftovers…more Broccoli and Tempeh Curry with Curry Coconut Brown Rice.

Snacks of the day included: brown rice cakes with almond butter.  Carrots and hummus.  An apple.  Handful(s) of nuts. Oh and lots of water.  And coffee.  Coffee with unsweetened vanilla almond breeze.

I put myself in charge of making dinner for my Dad and I.  Hmm…something vegan, gluten-free, and guy friendly?

Mexican! I modified Ashley’s Tempeh Taco Filing and sang praises again for her blog, The Edible Perspective and all her GF/V recipes.

Tempeh Fajita Stir-Fry

Ingredients:

-1 small red onion, sliced

-1 green pepper, sliced (could use a variety of peppers for fun!)

-1 package (8 ounces) tempeh

-1 can black beans, rinsed/drained

-1 can diced tomatoes

-1 T chili powder

-1 t garlic powder

-1 t cumin

-sprinkle of salt/pepper

Directions

1. Heat a splash of olive oil in a large frying pan, add onion and green pepper and cook about 5-10 minutes until it begins to soften.

2. Crumble package of tempeh into the pan and cook another 5 minutes.

3. Add black beans, tomatoes, and spices.  Heat through another couple of minutes.

4.  That’s it.  So easy.  Enjoy.

My Dad and I ate ours with corn tortillas, some fresh corn on the cob, and some chili sweet potato fries.

For the sweet potato fries, I just peeled the skins off two large sweet potatoes, cut them into strips, tossed in olive oil, cumin, chili powder, and baked at 425F for about 25 minutes.

Winner, winner, gluten-free/vegan dinner!

He loved it and so did I.

 

My Mom and I are enjoying a belated-Mother’s Day “Spa Day” featuring numerous gluten-free/vegan eats.  I better get back to making lunch but I”ll be back tonight or tomorrow with a recap.

Here is a little preview though….

Can you guess what it is?  Hint: its NOT gluten-free OR vegan!!

 

 

 

 

 

