I am starting my gluten-free week here on my dieting adventures but I wanted to throw in one last recap of some of my vegan eats.

I was missing the deliciousness of all my protein shakes, so I splurged on a packet of Vega Energizing Smoothie.  Vega is a great vegan company with a lot of products for athletes.  This mix contains:

  • Two servings of veggies
  • 10 g of complete, plant-based protein
  • 5 g of fiber
  • 1 g of Omega-3

Sign me up.

I mixed it in my rocket blender with some unsweetened vanilla almond breeze and half a frozen banana.

OHMYGOSH. It was so good.  The price for a tub is a little out of my student-budget but man it would be worth the splurge!

As I tweeted last night, I finally got around to trying tempeh!

What is tempeh you ask?

Tempeh is fermented soy beans formed into patties or blocks.  It has a nutty flavor and many products contain added flavors and ingredients.  It is high in protein and calcium but low in fat.

I made Ashley’s Broccoli Tempeh Curry with Creamy Coconut Brown Rice.

I followed her recipe almost exactly.  I don’t have an immersion blender though and was feeling lazy about breaking out a real blender so I just skipped this part and left the sauce a bit chunkier.  I also think I added too much broccoli and it didn’t seem to be cooking down so I ended up using the whole can of diced tomatoes and adding a bit more water and coconut milk.

How was it?

YUM.

I love the nutty flavor of the tempeh and the creamy coconut brown rice was so dreamy.

By the way, some tempeh and flavored tofu can contain gluten but thankfully I checked their website and Light Life Organic Vegan Flax Tempeh does not…and brown rice is gluten-free too…I’m so glad because the leftovers will probably be better than last night.

I’m headed home for a few days and have some recipes to try with my parents…happy Monday!

What is one food item you splurge on?!

 

