Whoops, I was a little confused about the days I had posted to be doing each of my ‘diets’ and said I would go gluten-free starting May 21st…tomorrow!

Guess I better figure this whole ‘gluten free’ thing out asap…

What is Gluten you ask?!

Gluten is actually a protein found in wheat.

Should I avoid gluten?  Will it make me lose weight?  What’s with this ‘gluten-free buzz’?

For most people, gluten does not need to be avoided and is part of a healthy diet (a good protein!)  However, some people do have problems digesting gluten.  The most extreme kind, known as celiac’s Disease, is an autoimmune disease preventing digestion in the small intestine.  Others may not have full-blown celiac’s disease but rather just a wheat allergy, so they may choose to avoid eating gluten.  Foods that are ‘gluten-free’ have a low level of gluten that shouldn’t affect those with an intolerance.

Some people claim that giving up gluten helps their digestive system but it should not be used as a diet to lose weight (hello, have you seen all the gluten-free brownies, cookies, and cakes?!)

What foods contain gluten?

-Wheat

-Rye

-Barley

-Triticale (cross between wheat and rye)

-Cous cous

-Food additives like dextrin as a thickener or stabilizing agent *this seems to be the tricky thing to avoid gluten

What foods can you eat on a gluten-free diet?

-Rice

-Corn

-Potatoes

-Quinoa

-Millet

-Soy and nut flours (garbanzo bean flour, almond meal)

-Buckwheat

What others foods should you avoid on a gluten-free diet?

-Oats (unless certified gluten-free because many are cross contaminated … bummer.)

-Beer made with wheat barley

-Soy sauce

-Condiments like bbq sauce, mustard, ketchup, mayo

-Processed meat

-Non-stick spray

*For a more comprehensive list you can go to: Gluten-Free Goddess

What are some good products for gluten-free diets?

-Bob’s Red Mill makes a ton of gluten-free flours and baking ingredients

-Glutino

-Udi’s

Any good websites?

-Shopping: http://www.glutenfree.com/

-Magazines: http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/

-Restaurants: http://www.glutenfreeregistry.com/

-Blogs I already read: The Edible Perspective, Tasty Yummies, Healthful Pursuit, Fork and Beans

It should be noted that there are many beauty products and medications that also contain gluten and those with celiac’s disease must always be aware of ingredients to avoid these products.  Due to money and time, I won’t be eliminating/avoiding all of these products unless I can!

I also know that I am not an expert into gluten-free eating, nor will I be by the end of this week!  I am sure gluten will slip in my diet somewhere but I’ll try my hardest not to let it.

The biggest changes in my diet will be removing oats, pasta, whole wheat flour and watching what I eat when I am out to eat and with others!  As I mentioned earlier, I am liking vegan eating so I’ll try to stick to that this week as much as possible.

I am going home tomorrow for a few days and I know my parents are thrilled with all my current dietary restrictions 😉  Ha, actually they don’t care all that much but I know a lot of the menu planning will be up to me!

 

Do you follow a gluten-free diet?  If so, any advice for me?!

 

 

 

