It’s not all quinoa salads and tofu with veggies over here this week.  I’ve tried 3 NEW recipes this week from 3 different blogs the past few days.  I think that is a new record for me!

I meant to post these yesterday…or the day before?…but life got busy…in a good way!  I’ve had work but also some fun.  I’ve still been following my month-long adventures in dietary choices and am L-O-V-I-N-G being vegan this past week!

Energy High – Cravings Low – Food Delicious – Anna Happy.

Let’s begin with a breakfast recipe…Chocolate Covered Katies Blueberry Pie Pancakes.

Typically in the morning, I intend to try new recipes but I am hungry and lazy and just end up making oatmeal.  But on Saturday I knew I needed to make some pancakes! I followed her recipe exactly minus actually measuring most of the ingredients 🙂

I combined:

1/3 cup whole wheat flour

2 Tish rolled oats

1/2 cup+ defrosted frozen blueberries

1/3 cup+ unsweetened vanilla almond breeze (I had to get more to get a runnier consistency)

Heavy dashes cinnamon

Bit of baking powder

Small splash of vanilla extract

Light dash of salt

 

Threw on a heated pan, flipped when brown, and cooked to deliciousness.

I think the toppings put these pancakes over-and-above, in a good way.

I threw some banana slices onto my frying pan and heated them quickly on each side so they caramelize a bit.  Then I made a peanut butter sauce with a heaping tablespoon PB2 powder and some splashes of almond milk.

All together, I call it my PB&Banana Blueberry Pancake Sandwich.

 

Moving onto a perfect snack recipe or addition to salads…the other day I roasted chickpeas using Mama Pea’s recipe for Lemon Rosemary Roasted Chickpeas.

I tossed a rinsed/drained can of chickpeas with some olive oil, rosemary, lemon juice, salt, and pepper.  On a baking sheet they went, and in the oven at 375F for about 25 minutes.

Then, of course, I did top them on a big salad for lunch.

They are hiding there somewhere.

I think these would be perfect with roasted broccoli, quinoa, and mushrooms with more rosemary, lemon juice, and a splash of red wine vinegar.  I’ll work on that.

And for those of you who think you can’t enjoy a nice bowl of creamy delicious yogurt if you’re vegan, I introduce Happy Herbivore’s Homemade Vegan Tofu Yogurt.

Trust me I was skeptical too.

None the less, life is an adventure and you never know until you try.

So into a blender went:

– ounces soft tofu

-1 T lemon juice

-2 T unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

-1/2 frozen banana

-1/3 cup frozen raspberries

Blend blend blend. Scrap scrap scrap.  (the sides of the blender that is…the stuff splatters everywhere)

Ta-da!

Oh, it looks good.

But does it taste good?

Oh yeaaaaaahhh.  I didn’t add any sweeteners but the raspberries made it sweet enough for me.  You could always add agave or honey if you like things sweeter.  t didn’t taste like ‘tofu’ but yet there was a heartiness about it that filled me up more than typical yogurt.

I’m sold.  Where do I sign up to be a ‘vegan’?

 

I’ll be continuing on my vegan ways until Tuesday when I go gluten-free.  I think I’ll try to stick to eating vegan though while doing gluten-free!  get crazy.

Tonight, tempeh is finally on the menu!

 

When was the last time you tried something new and ended up loving it? 

 

 

