…No, not like that…

A new hobby love.

Trail running.

(see above picture to see what trail running looks like)

Oh yes.  A spur of the moment text and the next thing I knew I was up in the Blue Ridge Mountains running trails and it was a blast.

My friend Erin took us on a trail she’d been on once before.  It was only a little over 2 miles to the top but we climbed over 1500 ft.  Talk about a workout.  It was such a great experience to be out in nature that the time flew by.  Plus with the climb, it was a kick-butt cardio workout.   The awesome views from the overlook did not hurt the experience to say the least.  PLUS the company was phenomenal (thanks Melissa, Cully, and Erin!)

We all had such a good time that we set a date to go again on Thursday!  Expect more trail running adventures in the future…

Good times didn’t end off the trail and we all grabbed lunch at the Little Grill Collective.   If you are ever in a 100 mile radius of Harrisonburg you MUST hit up the Little Grill.  They have the best breakfast around, a slamming lunch/dinner menu (including an all-you-can eat Mexican night) AND a ton of vegan/vegetarian/gluten-free options.

I had the “Go Ask Alyce” vegan wrap…”Crisp homemade felafel with sauteed mushrooms, onions, peppers, and garden veggies wrapped with homemade lemon tahini dressing and hummus in a flour tortilla. Served with a small side salad with lemon tahini dressing.”

Yes, it was as good as it sounds and better than it looks.

And Vegan!

My other vegan eats for the day included a kick-butt tofu scramble and oatmeal this morning.

Sauteed onion, peppers, mushrooms, frozen spinach, firm tofu with garlic, tumeric, curry powder, and cayenne pepper.

Get in my belly.

Also the standard oatmeal with flax seed.

I snacked on some rice cakes with peanut butter before our run.

And before heading out tonight I threw together another junk salad, basically the same as yesterday’s lunch.

Quinoa, black beans, avocado, and all the vegetables I can fit on one plate.

Where was I heading out you may ask?

Steal a pint night at Jack Browns!

I got my pint of beer!…and water too…gotta be safe and hydrated!

The ‘book club’ was there in full force with a few extra friends.

❤ these ladies.

I headed home from a full day of fun and and snacked on some Twin Oaks Tofu and squash…pretty similar to last night…

(recycled picture alert)

I was too busy chatting with my new roomie Kristen to snap a picture but you get the idea.

 

Shew, what a full and spontaneous day…the best I’ve had in awhile by far.

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.” – George Bernard Shaw

 

 

When was the last time you tried something new that you fell in love with?!

 

 

 

 

