Technically Mother’s Day was yesterday (as you know) but I didn’t get this post together since I was working all weekend serving other moms out there.  I still wanted to post about my mom since technically one should celebrate their mother (and other important people in their life) everyday.

I think we could all argue that we have the best Mom ever, but I have to say that I do.

My mom is quite the women.  She went back to school when I started elementary school to become an RN.  Her list of hobbies and ‘extracurricular’ are endless.   She loves: gardening, quilting, dancing, playing guitar, volunteering, yoga, hiking, traveling, etc, etc.

As you may have noticed, she is my biggest supporter and cheering section and tries to make it to any racing event I have.

last summer at TriAdventure sprint triathlon with the rest of the cheering section, Chloe and Maggie..

…this year at graduation…

And speaking of Chloe, let’s be honest, my mom has stepped up to the plate and ‘adopted’ Chloe as her own.

…mom with her favorite “girlies”…

 

I grew up a die-hard Mamma’s girl.

“Who’s my girl?” she would ask.

“I am.”

 

I’ve learned a lot from her over the years…

  1. Lotion makes the best mascara remover (on non-waterproof kinds).  After you wash your face, just put some lotion on a tissue and wipe away the leftover black smudge.
  2. Put yourself out there.  My mom isn’t afraid to try new things.  She started playing guitar at church again (even though she gets a little stage fright) and she goes on mission trips a couple of times a year with local college students.
  3. Less is more in terms of beauty.  My mom is beautiful but never put much emphasis on physical beauty growing up.  A little blush and mascara go a long way but there’s no need to spend energy (and money) on tons of beauty products and clothes to keep up with others.
  4. If you can’t get a jar open, bang it on the floor.  No really.  If you are opening a jar for the first time and it’s too tight to open, bang the rim of the lid on the floor/counter a couple of times and it will open easier!
  5. A little independence goes a long way.  My mom and dad have a great relationship and do a lot together, but my mom isn’t afraid to do things on her own.   If my dad is busy with work, my mom has taken mission trips by herself, gone to visit my sister, and stays busy with friends.
  6. Keep the faith.  I haven’t talked about my faith on the blog but my mom reminds me how important prayer and having a strong faith community is.
  7. Don’t be afraid to get help.  Even though my mom is superwomen, she would be the first to admit you can’t do it on your own.
  8. Always carry gum/mints.  This becomes especially important after communion; no one likes wine breath.
  9. It is about balance.  I can take things to the extreme but my mom reminds me how important moderation and balance is, especially when it comes to health.  She stays active and works out, but is not over the top about it.  She eats healthy but indulges in a piece of dark chocolate daily.

 

I could go on and on with other things my mom has taught me!

…she is one strong lady!…

I hope you enjoyed your Mother’s Day and got to celebrate the day with your mom!

 

So what is one thing your mom taught you?!

 

 

