I know you’ve been sitting on pins and needles all day waiting to hear about my Pinterest Potluck last night.  Well wait no further, the party recap is here…

 

It was a joint celebration with my ‘book club’ friends…celebrating my graduation and Elizabeth’s Birthday!  Rachel decked out her place with balloons and fun glasses/tiara for the ‘guests of honor.’  It was great!

We all had picked recipes we had pinned on Pinterest to bring.

First up was a hummus/cheese dip provided by Elizabeth and made by her boyfriend Matt who was also there!  I don’t have the recipe yet it was based on, but it was delicious!

Next up was an Edamame Asian Salad, provided by Rachel, originially from www.skinnytaste.com.

She omitted the brown rice, added pecans and served it over lettuce with an asian dressing on the side.  I loved the crunch of the pecans with the kick of the green onion and sweetness of the mandarin oranges.  Rachel is so good at taking a recipe and modifying it to how she wants it/what ingredients she has on hand.  I was impressed.

My addition to the Potluck was not as successful.

What is that big mess you ask?  Well, my attempt at Quinoa Sushi, originally from nomsforthepoor.com.

This is what it should have looked like…

source

I made sushi once before with my dietetics friends, but we all had a hard time getting the quinoa to stick last night.  I had made it the day before and reheated it (being hot was supposed to make it stickier) but it wasn’t working. I also think we needed a sharper knife to cut through the nori (aka seaweed).

Oh well!  We all attempted rolling some and others had better success.  I just made mine into a sushi salad, topping it with wasabi and soy sauce.  Still delicious!

For dessert, we had two treats to choose from!  Why two?  Because Emily also had a flop with her Skinny Chunky Monkey cookies from Six Sisters’ Stuff.

I didn’t get a picture of these little cookie nuggets, but I guess after making them, her boyfriend decided they tasted like cardboard.  I’ll admit, sometimes ‘healthy’ just doesn’t cut it!  She still brought them though, and we all liked them okay…but maybe wouldn’t make them again.

She went to plan B and brought this wonderful Applesauce Bundt Cake from Baking Bites.

Pre and post-powdered sugar…So beautiful!

The best laugh was realizing this was also a mini-flop too!  She didn’t have a bundt cake pan so she just made it in this round cake pan.  When we cut into it, we got this…

See that ‘goo’ in the middle?…lots of cake guts!  One thing, if you don’t use the right pan, you might have to cook it longer…lesson learned!

Rachel and I enjoyed eating the cake guts though 🙂

Of course, no party would be complete without drinks.  Rachel provided wine, beer, and these beautiful rose wine drinks filled with frozen raspberries.

Simple. Refreshing. And fun.

 

Even though we had some flops, the Pinterest Potluck was a huge success!  I would recommend having one with your friends fo sho.  Be sure to follow me on pinterest to see all the other great recipes I find!

 

What is the latest flop you had in the kitchen?!

 

 

