This morning I hit the road early for a 35 minute run…  The sun was shining as I headed back to my apartment; it was a great way to start the day.  Moments like those remind me why I love running.

Another great way to start the day is with these two new recipes I tried this morning.

First up…Vanilla Chai Protein Shake….

…based off Katie’s Vanilla Chai Breakfast Shake!

Add to your blender:

1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze (or milk of choice)

1/2 T chia seeds (optional)

1 T unsweetened shredded coconut

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/2-1 whole frozen banana

heavy dash of cinnamon

dash of ground ginger

ice

Blend away!….you can add more water or milk if needed to reach your desired consistency…

 

This was seriously SO good.  I am drooling thinking about it.  Might have to be recreated for a snack later.

 

Up next was Carrot Cake Oatmeal

…based off Naomi’s Carrot Cake Oatmeal…

Ingredients:

1/3 cup rolled oats

1/3 cup unsweetened almond breeze

1 cup water

1/2 cup shredded carrots

lots of cinnamon

dash of ginger

splash of vanilla extract

1/3 cup egg whites

2 T unsweetened shredded coconut

Toppings of choice: raisins, nuts, coconut, etc

Directions:

1.  Add oatmeal, carrots, water, and milk to a pot.  Bring to a boil and simmer over medium-low heat until most of the moisture is absorbed.

2. Add cinnamon, ginger, vanilla extract, coconut, and egg whites.  Stir and continue to heat a few minutes.

3.  Remove from heat, put in a bowl, and add toppings of choice.  I sprinkled mine with some more cinnamon and added walnuts and raisins.

 

YUM.  I have not made stove-top oatmeal in so long and I forgot how fluffy and delicious it gets.  Next time I think I’ll chop up my carrots a bit more, ’twas a bit chunky.  But it was a fun way to get some veggies in my breakfast!

 

I’m off to run some errands, but I’ll be back with a recap of my Pinterest Potluck later!

 

 

What is the best recipe you have tried lately?!

 

 

