Happy St Patrick’s Day!

I am happily on my way to visit friends but I thought I would stop in with my favorite green foods in honor of such a festive holiday.   It doesn’t always have to be about the Guinness and green beer…although those are good too 🙂

1. Spinach!  I love adding it to smoothies, in egg puffs, or oatmeal…oh and just in salads.

Spinach is high in Vitamin K, Vitamin A, manganese, folate, iron, magnesium, Vitamin C, Calcium, and Vitamin B2…just to name a few!

 

2. Okra.  I love okra fries.

Okra is high in fiber, Vitamin A, C, and K, folate, and low in calories.

 

3. Wasabi – Lately I’ve been buying these tubes of wasabi from Walmart for like $2 and adding it to salads like I did here.

Good to clear out the sinuses 😉

 

4. Avocado – Creamy, delicious, filling, and full of healthy fats.  I’ve been adding a lot to my salads or in sandwiches.

They are high in monounsaturated fats, Vitamin K, folate, potassium and many other vitamins and minerals.

 

5. Cabbage – My favorite way is to simply cut it into pieces and then steam in the microwave in this nifty steamer I have.

Cabbage is very low in calories and high in Vitamin K, C, and fiber.

 

5. Broccoli!  I buy frozen bags and go through these quickly..whether I throw it in a pasta dish, stir-fry, or simple steam some as a side dish.

Broccoli is high in fiber, Vitamin C, K, selenium, among others.

 

6. Brussels sprouts – I loovvvee roasted Brussels sprouts.

No wonder your mother made you eat them; high in Vitamin C, E, A, and iron.

 

7. Kale – Kale is so good baked into kale chips or thrown in pasta or served as a side.

Kale is a nutrition powerhouse with Vitamin A, C, K, B6, magnesium, and minerals like iron, copper, potassium, manganese, and phosphorous.

 

8. Green Apples – a great snack with peanut butter or cinnamon!  An apple a day keeps the doctor away.

 

9.  Zucchini – zucchini is such a good low calorie vegetable, high in Vitamin C.  I usually steam mine but you can easily shred it and add to baked goods for a healthy addition.

Also low in calories, zucchini contains Vitamin A, K, C, manganese, potassium, folate, and magnesium.

 

10. Last but not least…Cucumbers!  Perfect for a crunch in salads or as a dipper for hummus.

High in Vitamin A, C, folic acid, magnesium, and potassium.

 

Well there you go folks, a little nutrition lesson for the day…now go out there, eat some green, and celebrate!

I was surprised how many green foods I love.  How about you?  Whats your favorite?!

