Janetha posted this A to Z survey the other day on her blog meals & moves and I wanted to play too!  It reminds me of ‘get-to-know-you’ games we used to play at youth events.  Anyone do the same?  No?  Okay, here goes nothing…

 

A is for age: 25. Although this past year, I did turn 21 again.  I’m not upset about getting old, but at the same time, I’ve got a lot to get accomplished and could use all the extra time I can get 🙂

 

B is for breakfast today: I made an old classic…banana oatmeal!  YUM.  Smushed half a banana in a bowl, added 1/3 cup oatmeal, 1 cup water, and microwaved 2 minutes, stirring halfway through.  After, stir in cinnamon and 1 T flax.  Top with raisins and walnuts/almonds.  On the ‘side’ an egg white puff with mushrooms and spinach.

C is for currently craving: ice cream!  I think it’s this gorgeous weather.

D is for dinner tonight: I have to work, so it will be eaten on the fly.  I’ll probably throw together some cabbage, leftover roasted vegetables, and turkey muffins in tupperware and call it a night.

E is for favorite type of exercise: Tough one!  Definitely depends on my mood.  I think I feel best after a good circuit style weight workout followed by a quick interval treadmill run.  Of course, a good triathlon always makes the list 🙂

…first triathlon fan club…Smith Mountain Lake 2010…

F is for an irrational fear:  As I kid I was always afraid of blowing away on windy days.  Then, after getting served a raw chicken tender at a restaurant, I had an extreme fear of undercooked chicken and would dissect any piece of meat I was served before eating it.  Now?  Snakes and cockroaches come to mind…okay those aren’t that irrational…they are lurking around every corner!

G is for gross food: Frozen green beans.  EW.  (Canned green beans is one of my favorites though…bizarre?  yes.)

H is for hometown:  I was born in Winchester, VA.

I is for something important: Friends.  My faith.  Family.  My future.

J is for current favorite jam: I’m still loving Countdown by Beyonce and Shake It Out by Florence + The Machine.

K is for kids: Wowza, definitely one day!  I have little Chloe, who my parents have so graciously “adopted” (I think we’ve all accepted that I am not getting her back).  Kids seem so far off, but I’ll admit, these days, I’m getting a little bit more of a motherly urge.

…such a little baby…

L is for current location: JMU…Go Dukes!

M is for the most recent way you spent money: Waking up to my alarm for the first time in a while this morning was a little rough, especially after the time change!  I ‘splurged’ on a cup of coffee before class this morning.

N is for something you need: A massage!!  …always…

O is for occupation: Full-time student studying to become a Registered Dietitian and part-time waitress until May.

P is for pet peeve: How come pet peeves are always hard to think of unless you are witnessing them?!  (Does this happen to anyone else?)  One that comes to mind is the guy at the gym who has an incessant cough while working out, does not bring water to help, and always seems to end up on the elliptical next to me.  That, and girls who wear shorts at the first sign of sunshine.  Maybe it’s just me but 60s and sunshine does not equal shorts weather.

Q is for a quote: “You’ll never regret the things you did, only the things you didn’t.” 

R is for random fact about you: I used to have my nose pierced.  My friends Jennifer, Amanda, and I got them done mid-way through our senior year.  I miss it.

…getting prepared for piercing (they put a cork up your nose)…and showing off our nose sparklers…

S is for favorite healthy snack: Brown bag popcorn or a cottage cheese with fruit and peanut butter.

T is for favorite treat: Frozen yogurt or cool whip straight up.

U is for something that makes you unique: I can wiggle my ears.

V is for favorite vegetable: These days, green peas.  Or roasted onions.  Or broccoli.  Or roasted beets.

…mmm roasted veggies…

W is for today’s workout: Today I did LiveFit Day 71 Legs.  It was different!  Its low-weight, high-reps of 5 different leg moves.  I warmed up with 10 minutes on the elliptical, did the circuit 4 times through, and finished up with 15 minutes on the stair-stepper.  I’ll admit, I was skeptical of the weight circuit, but I had to push through the last circuit…success!

X is for X-rays you’ve had: Ha, this brings up some random stories.  I ended up getting an x-ray in college after going to the health center when the doctor thought I had an extra rib.  I didn’t.  Looking back, this is the most random thing ever, and I can’t believe I actually went to get an x-ray for this.  I also got one for a stress fracture I had a few years ago while I was training to teach BodyAttack.  Then last year, I had major hip pain after I ran a half-marathon and 10K back-to-back and got an x-ray for it.  The x-ray didn’t show much and I just laid off running a bit and the issue healed itself.

…My Dad, Me, and my boot at one of his triathlons in 2009…

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Getting a bunch of ‘to-dos’ checked off my list.  After work I was feeling lazy but I manned-up and got some emails sent, bills paid, etc, etc, and felt good and ready for the week.  Nothing thrilling but it was felt good to be productive!

Z is for your time zone: Eastern!

 

So now your turn…pick a letter (or all of them!) and tell me something about yourself!

 

