As promised, I am here with a recipe.  And not just any recipe.  A chocolate recipe.

In all honesty, I had a post all ready about this chocolate bitter cake I tried to make with a chocolate banana froyo-esque topping.

I made it in honor of my book club’s viewing of “The Help” last night….reminiscent of Minny’s poop pie 🙂

Unfortunately…it was kind of a bust.  The bitter cake didn’t really mesh well with the banana topping.  I mean it wasn’t bad, I will eat it, but I wouldn’t rush out and encourage you all to make it.

But don’t fret.  I realized I have been holding out on my recent go-to post-workout protein snack. GASP.  Rude of me.

Bananas for Chocolate Yogurt Protein Mess

Mix and refrigerate overnight:

1/4 cup raw oats

1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1/2 T unsweetened dark cocoa powder

Splash of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

1/2 T chia (optional)

In the morning:

Pack it in your gym bag with a spoon and banana.

After your workout:

Slice your banana with your spoon and mix into your yogurt mess.

DIG IN.

 

 

I like this combination  of high protein from the protein powder and yogurt, fiber from the chia, quick carbs from the banana, and slower digesting carbs from the oats.

I’ve been going to the school gym a lot more to do weights for the LiveFit trainer…(by the way Day 58 killed me today…backs, arms, and abs PLUS running 4 miles).  You know I was starving after my shower, hence, I only remembered the snap a picture when I was half way through.

2 more days till ‘spring break’…not that anyone is counting 🙂  Time to buckle down!

 

Whats your favorite chocolate recipe?!

 

 

 

 

