…Something comes along and smacks you in the face to tell you otherwise.

What was that thing, you ask?

Oh, just a 17.5 lb dumbbell.

Yep. Right in the chin.

I pride myself on being pretty comfortable doing weights in the ‘boy section’ downstairs at our school gym.  I can hang with the big boys.  But now thankfully I can laugh at myself too.

Yesterday I was doing LiveFit Day 1 million (or 50) Arms, Abs, and Cardio and was performing a triceps skullcrushers.  Its where you lay on a bench with the weights overhead and bend them towards your skull (hence skullcrushers). Like so…

source

Only, obvi, you aren’t suppose to actually crush your skull, or chin.

I was using two 17.5 lb dumbbells and during my last set, got distracted and let them go too far back over my head.  I tried to compensate, bring them back down, but just nicked my face.  Haha just rereading this makes me laugh.

Thankfully it wasn’t full force impact but I am sure it looked hilarious.  And how do you recover from something like that?!  I couldn’t tell who or if anyone saw (which I am sure they did)…  So I just smiled and laughed to myself and continued on my way.

Now I know I’ll be ‘that girl‘ in the weight room.  ‘That girl‘ that smashed her face with weights.

My chin is tender but no bruise so far…

I wish I had it on video.

ANYWAY.  Enough about my smack-down.

I also hit up the treadmill later that day for a 5 miler.  For the middle three miles I came up with killer speed run.  You basically increase the speed by 0.2 every 1/10th of a mile.  The time flies and I was skeptical seeing how high my speed was going near the end, but its only for a tenth at a time so before you know it, your done!

Gasping Speeding Treadmill Mile(s) Run

Mile

Speed

0.0-0.1

7.0

0.1-0.2

7.2

0.2-0.3

7.4

0.3-0.4

7.6

0.4-0.5

7.8

0.5-0.6

8.0

0.6-0.7

8.2

0.7-0.8

8.4

0.8-0.9

8.6

0.9-1.0

8.8

Repeat for as many miles as you want!

 

Have any embarrassing stories from the gym?!

 

