Yesterday I gave myself a big pat on the back and two thumbs up.

The past two weeks my ‘to do list’ has included something I keep putting off: roast my own whole chicken.  Not sure why I got this idea in my head but it wouldn’t go away.

EEK.

I don’t know about you but I see those birds in the meat section and am creeped out.  The thought of dealing with any sort of whole slimy boney chicken does not really appeal to me.  BUT, the thought of a delicious moist roast chicken at a considerably cost-effective price does appeal to me.

So birds the word.

First, I found this simple recipe online: The Best Whole Chicken in a Crock pot.  It’s the best so it must be good.

Then, I braved the supermarket and picked my bird.  I choose an 8 lb chicken ready to be roasted.  It only cost me like $8.00.  A steal considering those silly packages of sealed chicken breasts cost easily $6+.

I got my crock pot ready, chopped my onion into big slices, and mixed my seasonings.  Recipe fail already…I did not have paprika or onion powder.  Oops.  Read much Anna?  Well it wouldn’t be cooking for me if I wasn’t making something up!  So I subbed in some chili powder and more garlic.  Perfect.

Crock Pot Chicken

Ingredients:

1 tsp salt

1 tsp thyme

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 whole onion, sliced

1 8 lb chicken (or size of choice, will just affect cooking time)

 

Directions:

1. Place onion in the bottom of a large crock pot. 

2.  Mix seasonings. 

3.  Take bird out of package, throw away giblets, and rub spice mixture all over bird.

4.  Place into crock pot and cook on high for 6 hours.  If smaller bird, cook on low as needed. 

Onions first.

Then came the scary part (that really wasn’t bad in the end…) messing with the raw chicken.

To get the chicken ready, all I had to do was cut open the packaging, take out the little package of questionable parts (I tossed it), and then began to rub my seasoning mixture all over the skin.  I tried to get under the skin but this wasn’t really happening so I gave up.

Put the bird in the pot and called it a day.

You don’t have to add any oil, butter, water, etc because as the chicken cooks it releases its own delicious juices to cook the meat in and keep it tender.

I was running short on time and my bird was bigger then expected so I set the crock pot to High for 6 hours.

A LiveFit shoulders workout, a couple of hours of Clinical studying, an 8 mile run, shower, and 6 hours later I had one delicious smelling apartment and the Best Whole Chicken in MY crock pot.

My first thought – now what do I do with it?!

The chicken was literally falling off the bone and was easy to pull apart.  Oh my goodness it turned out so good.  I could not stop eating it … (ha maybe this won’t last as long as I hoped?!).  I was running a little late for work so I quickly tore into the chicken without snapping a picture of the final cooked bird!

I got all this meat though and now have it for the week for sandwiches, salads, etc.  I can’t wait!

Now I know how easy it is to cook a whole chicken, I am going to have a hard time going back to silly prepackaged chicken breasts.  I can’t wait to experiment with different flavors.  I also want to save the bones and other goodies next time to make my own chicken broth…baby steps!

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little chicken experiment.  I encourage you to save some money and cook your own too!

I have to waitress lunch and then babysit tonight…so much for the weekend!  Working hard for the money.  I’m going to head to the gym first for LiveFit Day 47 Legs…should be interesting after the 8-miler yesterday.  Go hard or go home.

 

I’ll live vicariously through you all today…what are your fun weekend plans?!

 

 

