So my review of Ethiopian food? … Delicious!!

The student Dietetics Major group met last night for our annual social at Blue Nile Ethiopian Cafe.  I’ve been to the Blue Nile’s bar downstairs for my last birthday (such fond memories) but have never eaten there.  I didn’t really know what to expect so I did a little research on Ethiopian food.  They cook with a lot of meats and vegetables usually in the form of wat (a thick stew) served on top of injera, a large piece of flat bread, made with fermented teff flour.  They eat with their hands using the injera to pick up the meat and vegetables. source.

A few of the girls and I decided to split one of their combination platters so we could try a bunch of entrees.  Thankfully most of the girls had eaten their before so I let them pick out the menu options.  We choose…

The hummus platter as our appetizer.  Yum.  Can’t beat homemade hummus that’s for sure!  It was served with homemade himbasha bread and injera chips.  The injera chips were a bit chewy but the himbasha bread was to die for!! I could have eaten a whole loaf of this stuff…next time I go back I’ll definitely order just this 🙂

We got to choose two vegetarian entrees so we picked…

The Misir Alicha which is red slit lentils stewed with onions, garlic, ginger and turmeric.  It was good, a bit spicy but not over the top!

And the Red  Cabbage with stewed with onions, tomatoes, garlic and ginger.  This was also good.  I love cabbage.

For our meat entrée we picked the Lamb Tibs sautéed with homemade Ethiopian butter, onions, tomatoes, green peppers, garlic and ginger.  I don’t know when the last time I had lamb was but this was delicious!

The food all was served on the injera bread with extra on the side for scoopage.  Unfortunately my pictures turned out fuzzy but here is one from online so you get the idea…

source

They also included small bites of the other appetizers on the plate.  I liked the Azifah Fitfit (whole lentils, green peppers, chopped onion and bits of injera tossed in vinegar, olive oil and mustard then chilled) the most and would order that next time.  Some of the other girls got the Tofu Hoagie sandwich and the Himbasha Pockets and these looked awesome.  I can’t wait to go back and try some of the other foods!

To continue the fun, a few of us went out to Billy Jack’s downtown after for a beer.  I feel like I haven’t had a beer in so long…I chose the Lagunitas Pale Ale.  Hit the spot.

source

This morning I had my usual oatmeal and eggwhite veggie puff for breakfast….my puff looked like a veggie explosion…

After digesting I hit the gym for LiveFit Day 45: Chest, Abs, and Cardio.  Killer per usual.

I was suppose to run 2 miles per my half marathon “training plan” but I ended up doing 3.65 miles.  Oops.  Way to be an overachiever.  I was loving my treadmill sprint workout…I warmed up for 5 minutes, increasing my speed every minute.  Then I did 2 minute intervals (1 fast, 1 slower) increasing my fast speed every 3rd interval.  I did this for a total of 10 intervals and then cooled down for the last 5 minutes…

Time (in minutes)

Speed

0-1

4.0

1-2

6.0

2-3

6.5

3-4

7.0

4-5

7.5

5-6

8.0

6-7

7.5

7-8

8.0

8-9

7.5

9-10

8.0

10-11

7.5

11-12

8.5

12-13

7.5

13-14

8.5

14-15

7.5

15-16

8.5

16-17

7.5

17-18

9.0

18-19

7.5

19-20

9.0

20-21

7.5

21-22

9.0

22-23

7.5

23-24

8.5

24-25

8.0

25-26

7.5

26-27

7.0

28-29

6.5

29-30

4.0

Sweeeaattty MESSS!  ❤

A couple LiveFit notes…if you are familiar with the plan you’ll notice that I am not following a few parts of Phase 2 plan.  First, given the above workout, I am not doing “Moderate Cardio” for 30 minutes, but rather including more high intensity and interval work.  I just get bored on the treadmill and don’t really feel like only jogging for 30 minutes. As I mentioned, some of my cardio goes over 30 minutes too to fit in runs for my half marathon.

Second, I started week 7 this week where you are supposed to start counting calories and vary between high/low-calorie days depending on the workout of the day.  I’ve struggled with what to do about this.  I’m not a fan of calorie counting and don’t really have the time to track everything I eat.  I don’t want to lose weight but rather just build muscle.  I know cutting/tracking calories will help shed that extra layer fat so you can see muscle definition more.  I do want to see changes with the plan but I’m not ready to commit to a strict diet,…it’s never been my style.  SO I’ve decided not to count but rather just try to watch my portion sizes, avoid mindless munching, eat less carbs at night, and eat a bit more/less depending on my daily activity, and see how this goes.

I’ll admit though the last few nights I’ve strayed from the eating plan more than usual with wine, cupcakes, beer, and higher carbs.  I’m okay with this but today I want to buckle down a bit more again. All about moderation and customizing fitness and eating to you needs!

I’d love to know your thoughts on counting calories with the LiveFit plan…

 

It’s rainy here today but…”when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.”
Gilbert K. Chesterton

 

