Yesterday I enjoyed the day off from classes and work and celebrated Valentine’s Day in some small ways…

Heart mug and Vanilla Chai tea.

Special Starbucks Americano.

Valentine’s Day earrings.

An arms and abs workout + 5 mile run. 

EXERCISE

 Narrow push-ups: 4 sets of 15 reps 
 Seated triceps press: 4 sets of 8 reps 
 Superset: 
 Cable one-arm triceps extensions: 3 sets of 8 reps 
 One-arm reverse grip triceps pushdown: 3 sets of 8 reps 
 Superset: 
 Skull-crushers: 3 sets of 8 reps 
 Close-grip barbell bench press: 3 sets of 8 reps 
 Incline Dumbbell curls: 4 sets of 8 reps 
 Alternating Dumbbell curls: 4 sets of 8 reps 
 Barbell Curl 21s: 2 sets 21 reps 
 Stability ball crunches: 3 sets of 25 reps 
 Jackknifes holding stability ball: 3 sets of 15 reps 
 Stability Ball reverse crunches (ball between feet): 3 sets of 15 reps 
 Cardio – 30 minutes medium intensity cardio (running, elliptical, step-mill, etc) 

Holy smokes, this left my arms absolutely shaking!  My abs are SO sore today which doesn’t always happen.  I was glad today was a legs day to give my arms a break.  Legs, of course, kicked my booty this morning!

Since I didn’t have classes, I enjoyed making an extra special lunch at home.  I’ve had this recipe on my pinterest board for some time.

BBQ chicken stuffed sweet potatoes by Jessica at how Sweet it is.

So based on what I had…BBQ Chicken Loaded Sweet Potato

I microwaved a sweet potato for about 5 minutes.  Meanwhile, I sautéed some frozen pepper/onion mix (note: I really wanted to just use a fresh onion cooked up, but  I didn’t have one!).  Then I added cut okra and some frozen chopped spinach and pre-cooked diced chicken breast.

Topped on the sweet potato with barbecue sauce.

I loved the barbecue sauce…a fun twist on your typical loaded sweet potato.  Next time, I would definitely use fresh onion and cook it down really well to get it caramelized.

Crucial to get a bit of everything in every bite.

I think I liked it okay 😉

Last night I celebrated in a big way with my friends Rachel and Elizabeth.  It was Rachel’s birthday on Sunday so we celebrated both that and v-day.  Per Rachel’s request, I made my Roasted Stuffed Eggplant with Feta and White Beans and used two eggplants, a whole onion, 1.5 cans beans, and 4 servings quinoa.  It turned out great again!

(old picture)

The best part had to be the dessert though!  I splurged from sugar-free eating and it was worth it.  Rachel made chocolate covered strawberries.

Yum…the white chocolate was my favorite part.  Could not stop eating these.

And Elizabeth brought us Red Velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and pink sprinkles from a local bakery.

Red velvet is my favorite and the cream cheese frosting was to die for. Tots worth every bite.

It’s back to the grind today but it feels like a Monday!  I have classes all day and a social tonight at a local Ethiopian restaurant.  I’ll be back tomorrow with a recap of my first Ethiopian experience…have a great Wednesday!

How did you celebrate Valentine’s Day?  Ever had Ethiopian cuisine?!

