First things first…

source

R.I.P. Whitney Houston. What an icon.  I have so many memories of growing up listening to her music.  “How Will I Know?” “I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me).” “I Will Always Love You.” “My Love Is Your Love.”…the list goes on…

I felt disheartened that the kids I was babysitting for last night did NOT know who Whitney Houston was!!  And one of the kids was in the 8th grade!  What are kids learning these days in school if not about legendary pop icons?

 

second things second..

If you struggle to get your greens in, I recommend you do so in smoothie form…

Peanut butter protein powder, banana, chia, xantham gum, ice, and a big ol’ handful of spinach.  Topped with puff wheat.

Looks like snot.  Tastes like peanut butter ice cream.

I ate this today after LiveFit Day 41 – Legs.  I am a day ‘behind’ since I took a day off last week for my cold but I am going to keep tomorrow as a rest day – I think my body will appreciate it.  Especially since this means I am six weeks in and half way done with the trainer!  Hard to believe.  I might end up repeating Phase 2 to build more muscle but I’ll decide that in two weeks as Phase 2 ends.

 

So third things third…

I promised some progress pictures.

Welcome to the gun show.

Pre-LiveFit trainer, actually taken in November of last year.

 

Week 6 of LiveFit.

Sorry for the weak self-portrait pics but it gives you an idea of what I am working with.  I am not super buff or muscley yet but I’m getting more definition.  And less tan…

I can’t wait to see the changes in the next 6+ weeks!

 

Last but not least…

Need a last minute recipe for the week?  This past week I made Naomi’s Clean Eating Turkey Meatloaf with a few minor modifications.

Chipotle Turkey Meatloaf

Ingredients:

1 lb Lean Ground Turkey

1 cup chopped onion

1 cup chopped spinach

3/4 cup hot chipotle style salsa

1 egg

1/3 cup oats

1 tsp ground mustard

2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cayenne pepper

2 T spicy brown mustard

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Combine ingredients and put into meatloaf pan sprayed with non-sticky spray.

3.  Bake for an hour.

Easy peasy.

The chipotle salsa adds a nice kick.  I ate mine with some broccoli and spaghetti squash topped with more salsa.  Leftovers alert: there is plenty more where that came from.

 

Alright folks, the Grammy’s are on and I’ve got a bed calling my name!  Have a great week!

 

Did you watch the Grammy’s?  Any favorite acts?!

I just saw Adele…amazing.

 

 

 

 

