So between all my classes and school work I have had some time in the kitchen this week.  In my continuous goal to branch out of food ruts I’ve tried some new recipes and had some major wins and major fails.

We’ll start with the flops…

Earlier this week I thought I would create my own crispy baked tofu by using flax-seed and a bunch of spices.  Good idea right?

I took my tofu and pressed it in a towel to soak some of the water out.  Then combined about 1/4 cup milled flax-seed with chili powder, garlic, salt, pepper, cumin?  Coated the tofu and baked in the oven.

Pre-bake it looks pretty good but post-bake it looked just about the same and after sitting in the fridge over night I was left witha soggy-flaxy-tofuy sad mess.   Well, it wasn’t awful, but I would not make it again.

If I did maybe next time I would eat it immediately and let cook longer to get crispier?

Then the other  night I wanted to make Kasey’s Pizza PowerCake . Unfortunately I didn’t let it cook long enough AND I forgot to spray the pie pan with non-stick spray so I ended up with a mushy-eggy-spinach mess stuck to my pan.  Womp womp.  Um, I still ate it though…obvi…

One win with that recipe was using my new mini-blender to take 1/2 cup raw oats and create the oat flour… how convenient.

I did have success with another of her recipes…creating Mini CarrotCake PowerCake!  I followed her directions but I didn’t whip the egg whites and used chickpea flour instead of coconut flour.

I used my handy-dandy rocket blender to blend up my carrots…

I was skeptical of the little puffs.  I made them the other night and toasted them in the toaster yesterday morning..crispy and surprisingly filling!  I think toasting them was key.

I topped mine with Peanut Butter Fluff:

1/3 cup greek yogurt

2 T PB2 or peanut flour

 

YUM. Win one for me.

Last night for “dinner” I made Alex’s Famous Grain-Free Bitter Chocolate Cake for One.  I used to make these all the time for a treat, even before the Sugar Free Challenge.  They are really filling for a small dessert and you can change it up with so many toppings (peanut butter, coconut oil, greek yogurt).

I love that the only ingredients are an egg, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, bit of pumpkin, and baking soda.  How easy is that?!

I topped these with coconut oil and some more peanut butter fluff….Don’t worry, this wasn’t all I ate for dinner… I also ate some veggies and turkey muffins.  Although, let’s be honest, I would have been totally satisfied just eating more of these 🙂

Unfortunately I faced another fail this morning…

Half a cup of delicious vanilla chai tea spilt all over the table and my lap.  Good thing I needed to do laundry today anyway. And good thing it did not end up all over my laptop.

I’m off to make another cup of tea…my cold is getting worse but I must fend it off!  Have a good Friday!

 

So any flops or success for you lately?!

