Oh man.  I just got up from an epic power nap.  Between classes, waitressing, and school work…power naps are making more of a regular appearance these days.

True story: I used to hate naps and declared myself awful at taking them.

I still am not a “good napper” in fact I don’t think I feel asleep just now but I have realized how much energy I get from resting for 20 minutes or so.  Yesterday I knew I was tired but didn’t take one and all night at work I was a  huge grump.

Moral of the story: go lay down now.  Even if you are at work.  Just leave and go take a nap.

Smile

Anywho, one perk of my new waitressing job is a little extra ‘spending’ cash and I’ve been able to upgrade my kitchen.  Yes, I am just racking in the money.

Okay, nothing crazy here but a few new budget appliances to make life a little easier.  Remember how I made those cauliflower mashed potatoes the other night so easily?

015

Oh yeah.  This little baby is a Bella Cucina Rocket Blender from Target I purchased for $30.

I have a blender, but wanted something to quickly blend protein smoothies to take with me to the gym.

It came with two large cups and a small one with various lids.  It had mixed reviews online but I figured I would take a chance, knowing it might not be the strongest little rocket blender.

008

I’ve used it to make the cauliflower mashed potatoes and it worked like a charm.  I also made a protein smoothie the other morning with chocolate protein powder, a banana, water, some oats, and ice.  It worked well and ground up the oats but I did get a little chunk of banana.

006007

You just pop the cups onto the base and it blends right up.  Then you remove the blade and can use various covers to keep the item or take it with you.  I loved how easy it is to pop on a lid and take the cup with me!

012

Since I’ve only had it a week, I can’t speak to its ‘durability and last-ability’ but I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

Another little gem, a Rice Cooker!

007

I got this from Wal-Mart for $13 and used it to make brown rice the other week.  You have to use the special measuring cup provided to measure the rice and water but thankfully I did it right and got perfectly cooked brown rice in about 35 minutes!

005009

Precook in water and post cooked all fluffed up.

I know a rice cooker is not 100% necessary but it is definitely convenient.  This model only has one cook setting (others have fancy timers and different cook settings).  I do hope to play around with it to cook other grains and I’ll let you know if I have any success.

010

I divided the rice into individual portions for grab-and-go meals during the week.

Don’t be jealous of my fancy ‘tupperware.’  Winking smile

There are definitely kitchen appliances that are worth more of an investment (initially, a blender,  good frying pan, pot, knives come to mind).  But I am hoping that these little extra budget items will work just as well for me!

 

Go take your power nap and have a great weekend!

 

What is the best kitchen appliance you’ve invested in?!

…maybe I’ll need to go buy it… Smile

