Well last night’s first book club meeting was a raging success.  We spent hours discussing the detailed character interplay, plot progression, and dialogue of The Help.

200px-Thehelpbookcover

source

 

Okay, not really Smile  We Faked It.

Two of us are only 20 pages into the book, but to my credit, I have at least seen the movie.  However, we did spend hours getting to know each other, gossiping, and relating tales of young-adulthood.  Our host, Rachel, set up a lovely spread of tea, hot chocolate, and homemade scones!

001

Per her recommendation, I had the Celestial Season’s Bengal Spice tea with milk and it was SO good!  Definitely a nice kick to it.  I’ll be buying my own box soon…

We  set up our next ‘meeting’ and decided to actually bring questions and discuss the book at this point  … some… Smile

I have a new snack you should try!

Cottage cheese + PB2 powder or peanut butter+ chickpeas + dash of cinnamon

I ordered some PB2 powder the other day.  For those who aren’t familiar, it is like peanut flour, ground peanuts that you can mix with water to create a lower calorie fake peanut butter.  No, it won’t be replacing my beloved peanut butter (need those healthy fats and calories!) but I will be mixing it with smoothies, oatmeal, yogurt…and cottage cheese…for a peanut butter kick!

This combo was soo good that I almost forgot to snap a picture before it was all gone!

003

 

I followed up my snack with my favorite Fake Kombucha drink.

Have you tried Kombucha before?

kombucha

source

It’s a funky fermented tea drink that you really have to have an ‘acquired’ taste for…once you have a taste for it, it’s quickly addicting!  It claims to “detoxify the body and energize the mind.”  I don’t know about all that but I do love it.  Which is unfortunate because each bottle comes with about a $4 price tag.  Too much for my budget.  Womp womp.

Instead, I’ve been making my own with the following:

Seltzer water + Apple Cider Vinegar + ice + splash of juice (optional)

Oh so refreshing and tart!

013

It is also a very ‘acquired’ taste.

Enough faking it, time to get real.  Gotta head to class and work – Have a good night…almost Friday!

 

Do you like Kombucha?  Tried PB2?

