In honor of the last “official” day of the Sugar Free Challenge, I  made an extra special breakfast this morning and had to share immediately.  It’s sugar-free, healthy, LiveFit approved, and um…absolutely delicious.

003

 

Dark Chocolate Almond Joy Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/2 cup raw quick cook oatmeal

1 T milled flax-seed

1 heaping T unsweetened dark cocoa powder

2 T or so unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

2 T unsweetened coconut

2 T sliced almond

To make:

1. Heat oatmeal with 1 cup water in the microwave for 2 minutes, stirring halfway through.

2.  Add flax-seed, milk, and cocoa and stir carefully.  Add more milk if needed for desired consistency

3. Top with coconut and almonds.

4. Devour.

.004

It may sound, look, and taste absolutely sinful but the bowl clocks in at only about 237 calories, 9 grams of fiber, 8 grams of protein.

I rounded out my breakfast with an egg white puff and cup of tea. Tuesday is looking up. 

Now that the Sugar Free Challenge is coming to an end, will I be devouring mounds of chocolate, ice cream, and cookies you may ask?!

No.

Call me crazy but I haven’t missed sugar that much.  Sure at the pizza party if might have been nice to have one of the homemade brownies and yes last night at work the cake brought by the staff was tempting…but…the benefits are definitely outweighing the negatives.

I’ve had less cravings, less anxiety, and am glad I finally kicked my potentially unhealthy “fake sugar” habit as well. 

So I will be extending the January Sugar-Free Challenge into February…and see where it takes me from there!

If you were interested but hesitant in taking on the challenge, I encourage you to give it a shot in February with me! Smile

 

Oh and I finally figured out Pinterest yesterday and might be obsessed?  Feel free to follow me on it!

 

So did you partake in the Sugar-Free January Challenge?  If not, any interest in giving it a try in February?

