I hope you all are having a great weekend! I’m about to head out to work (so much for the ‘weekend’) but I wanted to check in before the week got started.

A few highlights from the weekend:

I think I was overdosing on the peanut butter protein powder but it is just so good.  I definitely needed a change on Friday so I threw together an old favorite…

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Protein Smoothie

Combine in a blender:

–  1/2 cup water
-1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond breeze
-1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder
– 1/2 banana
– 1/2 – 1 cup frozen strawberries
– 2 T dark chocolate cocoa powder
– 2 T chia (optional)
– dash of xantham gum (optional, just makes it extra smooth and creamy)
– lots of ice

Blend. Blend. Blend away.

001

 

Yum!  I topped mine with a Chocolate Protein Muffin.

003

Perfection.

Who says you can’t enjoy delicious sugar-free treats?!

I am not only eating protein smoothies though, I swear!!  I had to check back to a recipe from a long time ago, my Quick Stuffed Peppers for Two, and modified it for one!

I cooked the pepper in the microwave

004

Then stuffed in some pre-cooked rice, ground turkey, okra, and corn.  I stirred in some salsa and baked it in the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes.

005

I got these new ramekins at TJ Maxx that are perfect for recipes like this! So cute!

006

On the side I made a delicious salad and called it dinner.

007008

 

Another highlight of my weekend was going to a “make your own pizza’” party last night with some of my Dietetics friends!  A few girls hosted by making whole wheat dough, fresh marina, and providing toppings.  Everyone was supposed to bring toppings to share.  I brought ricotta, red pepper flakes (necessary on pizza!), and some carrots and hummus to snack on.

005

There were so many good toppings!  I used ricotta cheese, mushrooms, fresh mozzarella, basil, tomatoes, and some parmesan too!

Pre-cook…looking good…

003

Post-cook…even better…!

008

We also used some of the extra dough to make garlic breadsticks and cheesy break….the cheesy bread was the best!

This was not necessarily ‘LiveFit’ nutrition approved but I do think having ‘”cheat meals” is important although I do not practice having regular cheat meals and would rather keep my diet up to loose interpretation.  Smile  I enjoyed some wine as well but did not partake in the delicious brownies (staying sugar-free as I can!)

Having the pizza party was such an awesome idea and the girls did a great job hosting it.  We had so much fun we decided to make it a regular occurrence…next up is a “make your own sushi’” party!

 

Do you ever do ‘”cheat meals,” stick to a diet religiously, or practice more of loose interpretation diet like me?!

