Good morning and Happy Saturday!  I woke up to a snowy – slushy scene.  It started snowing last night when I was at work and the roads are pretty clear but there is still a light dusting on the ground.

01.21.12 007

Pretty.

You could tell the ‘college kids’ in town were having quite the time playing in the snow last night…lots of hooting and hollaring.  And some (ahem) penis shapes etched in the snow on cars this morning. 

After a bit of a late night, no one wanted to get out of bed this morning.

01.21.12 004

Wait, who is that?

01.21.12 005

Chloe-sleepy-face.

She sleeps in the laundry basket underneath my bed. 

No I am not that bad of a dog owner…she does have a stylish dog bed (you’ll notice in the background) but she somehow prefers my stinky laundry over it?  I always feel guilty when I do laundry so I’ll leave some or put a blanket in there if its empty, hehe.

After taking that picture she promptly got up and, well, just relocated to sleep somewhere else.

01.21.12 006

I can’t blame her.

What got me out of bed this morning?  Thoughts of breakfast, obvi!  I made my infamous savory oats with eggs.  Have you tried savory oatmeal yet?  If not, I highly recommend it.  Here is how I make mine…

Anna’s Infamous Savory Oats

Ingredients: quick cook oats, flax-seed, green peas, chopped spinach, mushrooms, eggs, and toppings

1. In a microwave safe bowl, combine 1/2 cup quick cook oats and 1 cup water.  Microwave 1 minute, stir, and continue to microwave another minute for 2 minutes total.

2. Meanwhile, in another microwave safe bowl, combine veggies of choice.  I normally use about 1/4 cup frozen green peas, 1/4 cupish frozen chopped spinach, and 1/3 cupish chopped crimini mushrooms if I have them on hand.

3. Meanwhile, heat frying pan and fry 1 egg + 2 egg whites (or 2 whole eggs) and cook to over medium.

4. After oatmeal is done cooking, stir in 1 T flax-seed.

5. Put veggies in microwave and cook for about 1 minute 30 seconds.

6. Combine: stir in veggies to oatmeal and top with your fried egg!

To make it extra savory, I spice it up with hot sauce and either reduced sugar ketchup or Parmesan cheese.

IMAG0260 (2)

Pre-egg oats and veggies.

IMAG0261 (2)

Post-egg deliciousness.

This will (clearly) not be everyone’s “cup-of-tea” but it hits the spot for me!  It’s an awesome combination of whole grains, protein, omegas, and vegetables which can be hard to eat in the morning!  It is perfect for a snowy morning like today.

 

Have you tried savory oatmeal before?  Any combinations you like that are different?!

 

