I mentioned before that I was going to try to stick to the LiveFit nutrition plan to clean up my diet after the marathon/holidays.  I have been LOVING it overall…I rarely ever feel ‘hungry’ (also due to less cardio obvi), haven’t really had to ‘change’ my diet too much, and like having the structure with lots of room for variety.

The hardest part is fitting in a meal or snack before working out in the morning.  I do think this helps control my hunger later in the day though so I’ve been making in effort to eat a small meal (if not a full breakfast).  If its smaller, I’ll just make my ‘mid-morning’ meal a bit bigger!

Here’s a day-in-the-life of my eats from yesterday:

Wake-up around 6:15 – Make cup of hot water with lemon. Sip on while prepping breakfast.

blog 006

(of course does not usually look that fancy…)

First Meal 6:30

1/2 cup quick cook oats cooked in 1 cup water for 2 minutes in the microwave.  Topped with 1 T milled flax seed.  I know its plain but lately I’ve been loving this combination and gasp!…yes, even without cinnamon.

Also eat my latest love: an egg-white quiche puff:  Cook frozen broccoli and spinach in the microwave for 1 minute to defrost.  Chop broccoli.  Add 1/2 cup egg whites.  Cook about 3-4 more minutes (until egg whites cooked through).  Top with hot sauce, salt/pepper, parmesan, feta, nutritional yeast, reduced-sugar ketchup…whatever you want!

IMAG0240-1 (2)IMAG0245-1 (2)

Pre-cook in the bowl and post cook!

After I’ll have a cup of hot tea.  Yesterday morning I had Lipton’s Vanilla Caramel and added some unsweetened vanilla almond breeze from the weekend.  Delic.

Then I took the pups on a walk, goofed around, blogged, emailed.

I hit up the gym for Shoulders/Abs and came home ready for “meal 2.”

Mid-Morning 9:45

Protein Smoothie 1.5 scoops vanilla protein powder, 1/2 medium banana, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, dash of cinnamon, sprinkle of chia blended up with lots of ice!

IMAG0196-1 (2)

I finished the rest of the banana with some peanut butter.

IMAG0225-1 (2)

Chloe wanted some too!  She is always following and watching me in the kitchen (or in the living room, or bedroom or bathroom for that matter).  Goofy girl.  I also made some green tea to warm up after such a cold smoothie.

IMAG0231 (2)

As I mentioned before, my protein powder is NOT sugar free (per the challenge) but it has less than 2 grams per serving and right now I can’t afford the non-sugar versions (life happens).

After snacks it was back to schoolwork!  I was suppose to get my hair done but had to reschedule for next week..ugh.  No pictures of me on the blog for another week Winking smile

Yesterday I didn’t have to be on campus all day so I didn’t have to pack lunch, sweet.  Although my lunch would usually look about the same if I pack (this week two days I took brown rice with broccoli, peas, corn, and a chicken breast topped with a bit of braggs liquid aminos).

Lunch 12:30

Junk Salad with romaine/spinach, carrots, tomato, canned green beans (my current fav salad addition), chickpeas, quinoa, and a can of tuna…Shew…a lot but it was delicious.  If I eat a salad as a meal I am sure to add a whole grain (usually quinoa or rice) and protein.  I ate some almonds after too for extra staying power.  I added balsamic vinegar and spicy mustard for dressing (also a current fav).

IMAG0232-1 (2)

After can you guess what I had?  Smile  Oh yeah, some tea!  I’ve just been on a kick with the colder weather so I made some Ruby Red Chai tea (decaf – I can’t do caffeine this late in the day).

I had a few hours to work on internship applications.  I’m trying to get them finished as much as possible by this weekend (they aren’t due till Feb 15) but I don’t want to worry about them once school work really kicks in!

I had class at 3:30 so I had to rush for my mid-afternoon snack…good thing I did prep:

Mid-Afternoon Meal 3:10

2 turkey ‘muffins’ atop broccoli and some cut okra with parmesan.  I’ll be the first to admit that I would have never guess I would be eating (much less cooking!) turkey muffins. I mean ew, how gross do they sound?!  But I got the recipe off the LiveFit site and they recommend 2 for a small meal/snack and I have to say..they are SO good.  I whipped up a batch Sunday, put 2 each in plastic baggies, and they are the perfect go to snack.  They really seem to sustain my afternoon hunger.

IMAG0233-1 (2)

I’ll keep the picture small because they do not look that appetizing.

Anyway, enough of the muffins.  I went to class, learned about management, and came home to rescue the pups from cabin fever.  We met my friend Rachel at the park for a walk which eventually consisted of Rachel trying to control Maggie and her ‘pee stops’ every minute and me carrying Chloe half the walk.  Oh me.  Dogs.  Hot messes.

I came back to make dinner…gloria!..eating again!!  I eat a lot Smile

Dinner 6:30

I made a stir-fry with shrimp, brussels sprouts, onion, and mushrooms with chili powder, nutmeg, and red pepper flakes.  I served it over whole wheat pasta and topped it with parmesan cheese.

IMAG0237-1 (2)

 

IMAG0235-1 (2) While I was cooking I munched on some carrots.  I like to munch on things while I cook.  Do you?  They don’t call me ‘Bunny’ for nothing.

As if that wasn’t enough food for one day, you can always have an optional snack before bed (which I usually do).

Nighttime Snack 8:30

I tend to overdo it on nighttime snacking but have been trying to stick to a small high protein snack.  Last night it was greek yogurt with dark cocoa powder (no sugar!), a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze.  Looks like watery chocolate pudding but tastes delicious.

IMAG0238 (2)

I didn’t mention the copious amounts of water I also drink throughout the day.  I always carry a water bottle with me to class …gotta hydrate!

SO there you have it folks!  A day in the life of your very own Anna.

What you might notice: I eat a lot.  I eat mostly whole foods.  I love tea.  I love veggies.  I also tend to bulk up my meals with veggies.  I’ll be the first to admit I am a ‘mass eater’ and like big meals so I’ll throw in some broccoli in egg whites or add okra to my muffins.  It’s good stuff and it is what works for me.

I hope you enjoyed my run through…let me know if you’d like to see more of this as I eat sugar free and take on the LiveFit challenge!

 

Speaking of turkey muffins (again with the turkey?!) Is there a food you eat that you would be embarrassed to eat in front of others or think is gross but like it anyway?!

