I am almost done with my first week of classes…say what?!  The great thing about not having classes on Friday is the school week seems to fly by and I only have one class on Thursday so it will be a jam-packed start to the week and taper off by Thursday.  I’ll take it.

planner

So what does a senior dietetics student take to get ready for their internship?

  1. Management in Dietetics – to prepare students for the business side of dietetics including human resources, financial resource management, ethics, quality improvement, yada, yada.  Since I have a business degree, I figure it will be a lot of stuff I’ve learned before only geared to RDs!
  2. Community Nutrition – looks at the non-profit and community sides of nutrition like Women Infants and Children and other government programs.
  3. Clinical 2 – a core class that focuses on working with patients evaluating their nutrition status and prescribing ‘diets’ in a clinical setting like the hospital.
  4. Food Service Systems – Another businessy type course looking at food service (like in hospitals, schools, or restaurants), best practices in these settings, and kitchen design and stuff like that.
  5. Experimental Foods – a fun lab course where your in the kitchen learning more about the functions of food, how to change ingredients, and food research. 

IMAG0224 (2)

I also have credits for my thesis which I have to work on analyzing the data for and then finish the paper.  Ouf.  Most of my classes are pretty group focused and project heavy, which I do better with…No SCIENCES!  Hoorah!  Huge relief.

So that is what will be keeping me busy this semester!

Last night I got home from taking my “menu test’” for my watiressing job (hopefully I passed so I can start work soon..glad that is out of the way) and threw together a shrimp stir-fry for dinner.

IMAG0213 (2)

Chili Lime Shrimp Stir-fry

You’ll need: frozen shrimp, peppers of choice (red, yellow, orange, etc), red onion, broccoli slaw, olive oil, garlic powder, chili powder, red pepper flakes, a lime, cilantro, and greek yogurt

  1. Prep veggies by slicing 1/2 mild pepper (I used about a 1/4 orange pepper and 1/4 red pepper) and 1/2 small red onion.
  2. Coat frying pan in non-stick spray or olive oil and add 4 ounces of frozen deveined, tail-off shrimp to medium high heat.  Sprinkle with red pepper flakes, chili powder, and garlic powder.
  3. Cook shrimp until they become pink and are cooked through, a couple minutes. Remove from pan and set aside.
  4. Spray pan again and add 1 tsp olive oil, previously sliced red onion, pepper, and 1/2 cup broccoli slaw.
  5. Sprinkle veggies with chili powder, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder.  Cook until veggies become soft and delicious.  Add in shrimp to heat and squeeze 1/2 of fresh lime over.
  6. Serve over brown rice (pre-prepped earlier in the week) and top with cilantro and a dollop of greek yogurt

 

IMAG0210 (2)IMAG0208 (2)

 

I’m hitting up the gym today for shoulders/abs in the LiveFit trainer.  Still loving the program but still doing a little cardio.  I’m also still going strong on the Sugar Free Challenge.  I also finally got on the bandwagon and am playing Words with Friends…I wish I had more time to play Smile

 

Do you have a favorite app or game you are addicted to?

