Happy 2012!

I am so glad its 2012 because:

  1. I like to start things fresh.
  2. I like even numbers.
  3. Big things will happen this year!

What big things?  Well (fingers crossed) I will graduate in May, enjoy my ‘last summer off’ working, move in the fall and start my internship to become an RD. 

In between is all the real life stuff that I hope to share with you.

I had a great NYE celebration with some of my friends.

nYENYE3NYE2

 

Needless to say I was struggling a bit yesterday morning but after some laying around I made it outside for a gorgeous run.  It was warm (I wore short sleeves, hello sun!) and I just ran..no mileage, no time, no where to go..it was perfect. Of course, I made it home last night in time to pop open a can of black eye peas and revel in the good things to come this year.

I’ve been doing some quality introspection and thinking about my 2012 goals.  I don’t have them all down pat but I am trying to focus on making them “SMART”

SMART? 

Specific

Measurable

Attainable

Realistic

Timely

For example:  Instead of “I want to get in better shape.”  … say “I want to workout 4 days a week for 45 minutes for one month.”  Then after the month, you can reevaluate and change as needed.

One of my goals is going to be increase muscle mass.  How am I going to do this?  Well today I’ll be starting Jamie Eason’s LiveFit trainer.  I’ve seen it around and have been hearing amazing things about the program, so I figured, why not?!  I have accepted that I do better with a training program and now would be the perfect time to start a ‘weight focused’ one before TRI season gets too near.

I’ll be following her workouts and trying not to add cardio in Phase 1.  You’re not suppose to do any but this will be super tough for me!  I’ll be following the food plan loosely for now as I do need to clean up my diet after the holidays.

Oh, I almost forgot…the Sugar Free January Challenge also started yesterday!  I really wanted a soda in the morning, I hardly ever drink them but it sounded so good to my headache.  I resisted though and made it ‘sugar free’ through day 1!

I think one of the big cardinal rules in resolutions is don’t try to do too much too soon.  I think I totally am breaking that one this January..oh well…I’ll try and if it doesn’t work out, that’s okay too! –> acceptance also goal of 2012

Wow, I didn’t realize how much I had to say…thanks for sticking through the wordy post.  I’ll be back with funner content later to make up for my blabbing Smile

 

So do you have any NY resolutions you have started? If so, Share!

