Need to get a last minute workout in before New Year’s Eve?  I did this morning!  Between the workout and my protein smoothie after I really felt like I was having an “AAH” kind of morning…

AAH? … Anna’s Adventures in Health moment…

 

Anyway, back to butt kicking. I found this saved in my “workouts” online tab.  It’s a 30ish minute circuit routine from Men’s Health (women don’t be afraid of ‘men’s’ workouts).  All you need is a timer or stopwatch, set of dumbbells, and your bruit strength Winking smile

The workout is called the “Spartacus Workout”  so it must be pretty hardcore. Like me.

I set the timer on my phone, got some weights out, (oh warmed up before), and THEN got to work.

Do each circuit move for 60 seconds (modifying towards the end if you are dying like I was), take a 15 second rest, then move right to the next moveRepeat the circuit for a total of 3 times to really feel like Spartacus.  Check out the website for how to perform each move.  I’ve included the weights I used but definitely modify as you need.  You end up doing a lot of each move so you might go lower than you would normally lift. Or not.

Venus High-Intensity Circuit

  • Goblet squat with 20 lb dumbbell
  • Mountain Climbers
  • Single-arm dumbbell swing with 15 lb weight
  • T-pushup with 10 lb weights
  • Split jumps
  • Dumbbell row with 15 lb weights
  • Dumbbell side lunge with touch with 15 lb weights
  • Push-up position row with 15 lb weights
  • Dumbbell lunge and rotation with 20 lb weight
  • Dumbbell push press with 10 lb weights

Shew..hope you feel like a god or goddess after that one!

I came home and made a protein smoothie after my workout: REFUEL.

Blackberry Banana Protein Smoothie

Into the blender went:

  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cupish of frozen blackberries
  • Lots of ice!

IMAG0195-1 (2)

blendage.

Yum. I usually only put in 1/2 a banana put using a full one really gives it a creamy texture.

IMAG0196-1 (2)

 

Here is to a healthy ending of 2011 and a great start to 2012!

I’m off to Richmond be safe and enjoy your NYE!  What are your plans for the night?!

