Well spin class was awesome today and definitely lifted my energy..hoorah to feeling better!  The class flew by because instructor did a mix of short intervals to warm up and then longer intervals for endurance.  The long intervals can be tough but they’re my fav and they make the class time fly by.

My uncle had the idea (and I quickly followed) to focus on not bouncing when you’re out of the seat and climbing (some call it running, or whatever).  This engages your leg and core muscles to give your quads and gluts extra work!

upanddown     across

So instead of letting your body go up and down as you peddle (which is the tendency) you keep your core tight, chest up, head level, and really focus on working your legs.

It takes a lot of concentration and I kept zoning out but my uncle was really good at it!

Another thing that helped me zone out is the awesome music she was playing.  I have a new favorite Christmas song….The Waitresses Christmas Wrapping…

Such a FUN song..Christmas time or not..it’s a keeper…She also played my other favorite, Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas” but she played the version with Bieber.  I can love me some Bieber but that song is better without him…

Anyway, for dinner I whipped up the soup my mom found the recipe for…a vegetarian tortilla soup.  Its based off this recipe but we looked at some of the suggestions and modified it.  FYI, always check the suggestions…you can learn a lot about a recipe from them!

Kicked Up Vegetarian Tortilla Soup

Serves:  12    Prep Time: 15 minutes  Cook Time: 45 minutes

Ingredients

  • 2 T canola oil
  • 1 large or 1.5 medium onion chopped
  • 3 peppers chopped into large pieces (we used a green, red, and orange)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 T ground cumin
  • 28 ounce can diced tomatoes
  • 48 ounces vegetable broth
  • 2 four ounce cans chopped green chile peppers
  • 15 ounce can black beans, drained/rinsed
  • 15 ounce can red kidney beans, drained/rinsed
  • 11 ounce whole kernel corn
  • Toppings of choice: avocado, tortillas, cheese, sour cream or greek yogurt

IMAG0133

Directions

  1. Put oil in large pot and sauté in the onion over medium-high heat until it begins to soften.
  2. Add the chopped peppers, garlic, cumin, and salt and pepper to taste.  Continue to heat about 5 minutes over medium-high heat until peppers soften as well.  IMAG0134-1
  3. Add tomatoes, broth, chile peppers, and both cans of beans.  Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer 30 minutes.
  4. Add in corn and continue to cook a few minutes.
  5. Serve with desired toppings!

IMAG0137-1IMAG0136-1

My bowl topped with greek yogurt and avocado x2 Smile

We ate this with a quiche from a local bakery and chips and salsa.  It would be fun to have with a Mexican style quiche (like with cumin, peppers, spinach, mushrooms, and cheddar)..next time fo sho…

Nothing like a little Mexican fiesta to get you in the Christmas spirit!

Not sure what the rest of the night holds but I think some cookies are being baked…

