I woke up bright and early today at 6:30AM..gah!… this is nothing rare for me.  I usually wake up around this time, but doesn’t my body realize it’s the weekend and I can sleep in?! I felt strangely energized and couldn’t figure out why..then it hit me…

This is my first Saturday in some 15 weeks that I have not had to get up and meet my class for a long run. Bittersweet. My body must know it should be running Winking smile

group gkin

As happy as I am not to have the obligation to be at a run at 8:00, I do miss these guys!

I haven’t been running yet after the marathon, but I am getting the itch.  My cold is feeling MUCH better today (I only woke up having a small pity party).  I made it to the gym this afternoon and did a combo workout: run 4 miles (felt great!) leg weights (squats, lunges, calf raises), then a 1000 m swim.  A run AND swimming twice in one week…get crazy!

Anywho…

As I mentioned, my friends Ann and Amanda were up for the night (hoorah for besties).  We all love comfort food, mac n’ cheese in particular.  We used to go to this fancy restaurant in college just to get their to-die-for macaroni and cheese (and we couldn’t afford anything else on the menu).  I found this recipe for Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese – sounded like a fun/healthy twist on the classic..  I basically stuck to the recipe…

 

Butternut Squash Macaroni and Cheese

Serves: 8     Prep time: 10 minutes      Cook time: 40 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 small butternut squash – about  1 lb – peeled, seeded, and diced – about 3 cups
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 lb whole wheat spirals or pasta of choice
  • 4 ounces grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 4 T Parmesan cheese (divided)
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 2 T bread crumbs

Directions

1. Preheat over to 375°F.

2. Place diced squash, broth, and milk in a pot and bring to a boil.  Lower heat and simmer for about 10-15 or until squash is cooked and can be pierced easily with a fork.  Add nutmeg, garlic powder, and salt and pepper to taste. 

3. Meanwhile, bring pot of water to boil and cook pasta until al dente (about 8-10 minutes).

4. When squash is done, remove from heat and mash until smooth.  Add cheddar cheese, cottage cheese, and 2 T of the Parmesan cheese.

5.  When pasta is done, drain, and add to the cheese mixture.  Pour into a greased 9 inch pan, top with 2 T Parmesan, and bread crumbs.

6. Bake at 375 °F for about 20 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and top is golden brown. 

IMAG0109

The results?  Pretty good!  I mean its not your mom’s homemade mac ‘n’ cheese but it is definitely delicious!  The original recipe claims that you ‘”can’t taste the squash.”  I have to disagree but in a good way!  I think next time I would even add more squash and leave some in bigger pieces to make it more prominent. 

I reheated some for a late lunch today and mixed in some broccoli. 

IMAG0112

It tasted better then it looked. Smile

 

Well I better get to packing (heading home tomorrow!)…hope your having a good weekend!

 

What’s your favorite comfort food?!

