I’m diligently studying away for my Human Nutrition & Metabolism final that’s tomorrow.  Okay, who am I kidding?  I am not very diligent (I mean look at me blogging) but I am trying my best here people!  It has by far been my hardest class this semester.  All the material is so interesting and so important to dietetics, but the class just goes to fast!  I definitely wish it was two semesters so there was time to actually absorb information.

My final is not cumulative (praise the Lord!) but of course, everything builds during the semester so it’s a lot to take in.  This exam includes Macrominerals (like calcium, potassium, sodium), Microminerals (like iron, zinc, copper), and a final chapter on Nutrition and Disease Prevention.

I thought I would share with you some diet advice you can use  RIGHT NOW to help prevent cancer.  That way, even if I don’t get much studying done because I am taking snack breaks, I can eat something healthy and know I am preventing cancer (which seems more important than studying anyway). *please note I am not an RD (just studying to be one) and you should consult with your doctor or other medical professional for health advice.

 

My Recommended Diet Guidelines to Prevent Cancer

  • Eat a plant based diet
    • limit meat consumption, especially red meat
    • include beans, nuts, and fish for protein and healthy fats
  • Include a variety of vegetables and fruits
    • think outside of your routines and include different colored veggies/fruit daily to get the most variety of nutrients
    • seriously, you can’t go wrong with vegetables
  • Eat unrefined whole grains high in fiber
  • Avoid packaged foods, sugary drinks, and fast food
    • seriously, you can only go wrong
  • Limit alcoholic beverage intake (none if possible, but 1 drink a day for women and 2 at most for men)
  • If you eat a variety of whole foods in your diet a vitamin supplement should not be necessary
  • Drink lots of water throughout the day and reach for tea if you want something flavored
  • Specific foods that might give that extra protection
    • garlic (raw and cooked but not supplements)
    • green tea
    • avocados
    • cruciferous vegetables: broccoli, brussel sprouts, cabbage, kale
    • flax seed
    • apples
    • citrus fruits
    • tomatoes
    • berries
    • the list goes on but notice a trend? whole foods: lots of fruits and veggies

Not included on this list are other lifestyle recommendations which are equally important: do NOT smoke (obviously, please it is disgusting people) and EXERCISE (obviously, please it is so crucial to your health people).  Nothing crazy here: make movement a part of your life and throw in some higher intensity exercise a few times a week along with weight training a few times a week.

 

The dinner I made last night was pretty anti-cancer.  It included whole wheat pasta (with fiber and phytoestrogens), sautéed shrimp, garlic (with organosulfur compounds), steamed zucchini, carrots, and squash (with lutein, saponins).  I seasoned it with a bit of nutmeg, chili powder, and plenty of Parmesan cheese (with yumminess).

 

shrimp spring veggie pasta

 

As you can tell I’ve been on a veggie pasta kick lately … blame the college budget.

Speaking of college…guess I do still have an exam to be studying for…or maybe I should go make a snack….?!

For more information and diet and disease prevention you can go to the World Cancer Research Fund, or  American Heart Association’s website,

Do you think about long-term effects of what you eat?  Or just eat what you want?

