I was home for lunch today and decided to make an extra special lunch.  I love squash and have come to perfect my quick roasting microwave method.  Microwaving the squash softens it, speeds cooking, and reduces the pain in having to cut a raw squash.  You can cook a squash completely in the microwave but the roasting adds all the flavor if you have extra time. Read on…

 

Quick Microwave/Oven Roasted Squash

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Using a squash of your choice (I used acorn), wash, and pierce with a sharp knife  around the edges to let steam escape.
  3. Put on microwavable safe plate and microwave for 2 minutes on high.  Rotate squash and cook another 2 minutes.
  4. Allow the squash to cool as needed (or just burn your fingers like me) and cut the squash in half.  Use a grapefruit spoon to scoop out the seeds.  If you don’t have a grapefruit spoon, buy one, or use a regular spoon and prepare to struggle.
  5. Cut the squash as desired (cubes or slices) and put on cookie sheet sprayed with cooking spray.
  6. Coat or spray squash with olive oil and top with desired seasonings.  Today I used cinnamon, nutmeg, and chili powder (highly recommend).
  7. Roast for 15 minutes, turn and continue to roast another 10.
  8. Remove from the oven, allow to cool, and enjoy or add to recipes as needed!

Today I heated up some leftover quinoa, pinto beans, and made a side of sautéed collard greens (sautéed with garlic, olive oil, and red pepper).  By the time I did this, the squash was roasted!  I topped everything with a little hot sauce and some Parmesan cheese.  Did I mention a bag of greens lasts forever?

After such a special lunch, its back to class and work!  Have a good Wednesday!

 

Do you like squash?  How do you prepare it?!

