How is everyone’s weekend going?  I have had a great one and made it back safely to VA with my family!  I am back at school and gearing up for the last couple of weeks of classes before exams.  The semester is flying and I can’t believe it is almost done…where does the time go?

I wanted to let you in on a little secret I’ve been using these past couple of weeks…I have been trying to incorporate more dark leafy greens into my diet.

Why?

Good question.

They are a powerhouse of nutrients!  They are high in Vitamin A, C, K, folate, calcium, and iron…to name a few.

They are also nutrient dense, so low in calories!  Winner.

But, I’ll admit, I HATE prepping greens sometimes.  Okay, its super easy to buy a bunch of kale, wash it, chop, etc.  But if you are like me, I end up making a huge mess and get overwhelemed and therefore DON”T buy greens.  Silly banana.

So, these past few weeks for recipes like my Kale and White Bean Pasta I have been buying the prewashed/chopped/cheater bags of greens instead.  They are awesome!  They definitely are not cost effective, but now I have been eating dark greens a few times a week and that is worth the extra cost to me.  The greens are so easy to throw into pasta, soups, and stir-frys.  Plus the bags provide a tons of greens and can easily make a few meals!

huge bag o' greens

Tonight I threw together another pasta dish using collard greens and frozen shrimp.  Collard greens have a milder flavor (for those of you new to greens) and are particularly high in Vitamin C, K, A and fiber.  Kale has a bit more of a bitter earthy taste, while Swiss chard is also mild and more similar to spinach.

Garlic Shrimp and Greens Pasta

Serves: 1 (can be easily multiplied for more people)

Prep time: virtually non-existant, maybe 3 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 ounces of dried pasta of choice (I used angel hair wheat)
  • 1/2 small red onion, cut into thin slices
  • 2 t olive oil
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 3 ounces frozen shrimp (I used uncooked, medium, deveined, with tails removed – if using cooked, just don’t add to the skillet as soon or they’ll get tough)
  • 1/2 cup cremini mushrooms, quartered
  • 1 cup collard greens, chopped
  • dash of nutmeg
  • splash of hot sauce, optional
  • Parmesan cheese, optional

Directions

  1. Bring pot of water to boil and cook pasta according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, heat a skillet over medium-high heat and saute onion in a bit of olive oil until it begins to soften.
  3. Add garlic and shrimp to pan and cook a few minutes.  Add button mushrooms, collard greens, and about 1/4 cup water to steam greens.
  4. When pasta is finished cooking, drain and add to sauteed greens and shrimp.  Add a dash of nutmeg and splash of hot sauce to flavor.
  5. Top with Parmesan cheese, if desired.

What short cuts do you take in the kitchen?  Cook with greens much?

