I am visiting my sister, brother-in-law, and beautiful niece for the week!  I love the holidays for so many reasons: time off from school/work, hanging out with family and friends, and of course, the food!  However, with the holidays brings extra stress for many people and with the inability to have a schedule and extra food around, many people worry about packing on the pounds.

Enjoying Holiday Cupcakes

Here is how I stay in check over the holidays:

  1. Continue to work out – I brought my tennis shoes along this week and mapped out some runs so I could stick to my training schedule for the week.  I know I might miss some of my extra workouts, but I don’t mind that for a week!
  2. Focus on keeping active with family and friends – Working out doesn’t have to be alone.  Go for walks with your family, play football, do a race together.  You get the idea.  Incorporate activity even when you are celebrating.  My family decided to save some money and not do a Turkey Trot this year, but instead, we are having our own!
  3. Remember the holiday really is only one day – This is important, Thanksgiving, for example, is only really ONE day (not 2 or 5 or a month!)  Just because I am traveling for the week, does not mean its a free for all the whole week.  Continue to eat balanced meals with lots of protein, whole grains, fruit, and extra vegetables!
  4. Enjoy what I love and leave the rest – You better believe I am going to be enjoying some mashed potatoes, gravy, and stuffing on Thanksgiving.  The green bean casserole, I’ll be honest…not my favorite…I might pass on it to save room for what I really like.
  5. Keep your portions in check – if you do love all the food (I don’t blame you!)… just keep your portions in check.

Family at Last Year's Turkey Trot

So how do you stay healthy during the holidays?  Any suggestions?

