I usually try to go grocery shopping over the weekend so I can prep food for the week but this weekend got away from me so I made my way there today.  My fridge consisted of some bread, a couple of eggs, and a random pack of peppers which makes for slim pickings for meals.  After an awesome suggestion, I thought I would let you know what I usually buy at the grocery store and what I like to keep on hand for throwing together breakfasts, lunches, dinners, and snacks.

Produce

-ANYTHING…okay not helpful…

-Salad staples: bag of spinach, bag of lettuce/head of lettuce, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, mushrooms, broccoli slaw

-Apples

-Bananas

-Sweet potatoes

-Onion

-Garlic

-Extras for meals depending on sales/seasonal: squash, kale, peppers, grapes, oranges, berries..go crazy…

Dairy/refrigerated section

-Plain fat-free greek yogurt

-2% cottage cheese

-Reduced fat feta cheese

-Unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

-Eggs

-Egg whites

-Tofu

Frozen Foods

-Vegetable mixes and other veggies

-Chopped spinach

-Pepper and onion mix

-Berries/fruit

-Shrimp

-Fish (salmon or tilapia)

Packaged Foods

-Whole wheat pasta

-Canned beans (black, chickpeas, kidney)

-Canned tuna/salmon

-Milled flax-seed

-Chia seeds

-Whey chocolate/vanilla protein powder

-Kashi chewy granola bars

-Coffee (I use Nestle individual instant coffee packs)

-Tea (peppermint, Earl Grey, vanilla chia, etc)

Bulk  Bins

-Quinoa

-Brown rice

-Popcorn

-Nutritional Yeast

-Chopped almonds/walnuts

-Oatmeal

-Oatbran

-Whole wheat flour

Condiments, etc.

-Reduced sugar ketchup

-Mustard, spicy and yellow

-Balsamic vinegar

-Braggs Liquid Amino Acids

-Hummus

-Salsa (condiment?)

-Peanut butter

-Spices! cinnamon, cumin, chili powder, garlic, oregano, etc

…shew…that seems like a HUGE list and unfortunately I probably left something off…but of course, as you build your pantry staples, you won’t need to get those often.

Anything I seem to have left off the list?!

