Brussels sprouts get a bad rep … I honestly don’t think I tried them until a couple of years ago.  Now, they are one of my favorite veggies, full of fiber and high in Vitamin C.  I like to roast mine with salt and olive oil spray or add them into pasta and rice dishes.  Here is my recent concoction of ingredients from my freezer…

Brussels Sprouts, Corn, and Shrimp Saute

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1 cup frozen brussels sprouts

1/2 cup frozen corn

4 ounces pre-cooked frozen shrimp (I just guessed a dumped in a ‘serving’)

1/8 tsp chili powder

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

1 cup cooked brown rice

1 T Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1. Defrost brussels sprouts in microwave (about two minutes).  Cut into quarter size pieces.

2. Heat a skillet to medium high heat, add brussels sprouts, shrimp, and corn.  Cook 10-15 minutes, meanwhile, adding chili powder, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes.

3. Add shrimp mixture to cooked brown rice and top with Parmesan cheese.  Dig in!

Ever tried brussels sprouts before?  Do you like them? 

