If you have been around me enough while I throw food together and call the combos a meal, you know my favorite spice…

CINNAMON!

I love cinnamon on many things…the usual…oatmeal, cereal, french toast pancakes…and the not-so-usual…yogurt, cottage cheese, sweet potatoes, popcorn, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches….You’ve already probably noticed it in a lot of my recipes.  I seem to think a “dash of cinnamon” makes everything better.  Cinnamon can help reduce blood pressure and has been shown to increase alertness so the more the better in my book.

Knowing my slight obsession, my mom bought me this nice size cinnamon container when I started school last year.

Notice how much is left in there?  That is A LOT of cinnamon for one girl to go through in one year…

FUN FACT: I used to Hate cinnamon!  I wouldn’t touch a cinnamon roll with a ten foot poll..tragic I know.   Isn’t it funny how your tastes change?

I found this wonderful gem at Big Lots the other day.  Yes, Big Lots has food, I have found some great finds there!

I liked the thought of grinding cinnamon over my oatmeal for ultimate flavor experience…and it was only $1.

So far, the freshly ground cinnamon is quite delicious (but that might just be a placebo effect). 🙂

What is your favorite spice? 

