As for many, today is my first day of classes at JMU.  This will be my senior year and I will graduate in the spring with my B.S. in dietetics.  I have had a few rough spots these past couple of weeks dealing with “real world” things.  I’ve had to remind myself of one of my favorite quotes…

“Sometimes you have to let go of the good to go for the great.”

As some of you know, I am not your traditional undergraduate.  I actually already have a B.S. in Business Administration from the University of Mary Washington.  I have such good memories of my time there and established a firm foundation to go out into the workforce.  However, during my time working 2 years in a couple of ‘corporate’ positions I discovered my true passion for fitness and nutrition.  Researching my options, I decided I wanted to go back to school to pursue a degree in dietetics, after which, I will complete an internship for about a year to get my Registered Dietitian (RD) certification.  Figuring out this path for myself was not always easy and clear but I knew I wanted to take my life in a new direction.

Big City Life with my Family Visiting

Did I have a good life before returning to school?  Yes.  I sacrificed a lot (living with my best friend, close to so many people I know, a solid paycheck and job security, sanity…) to go return to a full-time student in a town where I knew no one, living on loans, dealing with schoolwork, etc..

JMU Dukes!

I know I am going for my great though and that is what keeps me pushing through.  Life is about constantly challenging yourself to live up to your full potential.  I am passionate about nutrition, wellness, and helping others, and I know I am on my way to a great career.  Some never find this type of drive or passion in their life, so I have to remind myself what a blessing it is.

As we enter into another school year, maybe its a good time to reflect on your life and the direction you are headed.  Are you living a good life?  Or are you really leading yourself to a great life…the life you deserve.  It may not always be easy or fun but I hope you take sometime to think about what has held you back on living your greatest life!

Here’s to more adventures!

Are you starting classes again this fall?  Have any goals you are working towards?

