I came across a great article this morning on choosing fruits and vegetables at the farmer’s market.

http://www.takepart.com/news/2011/08/01/farmers-market-fruits-and-veggies-we-know-how-to-pick-em

It offers great tips for choosing fruits and vegetables I had never heard…

For example, did you know that choosing a lighter color green pepper will be sweeter?  Or you can easily freeze corn after you boil it by slicing off the kernels? Or that you should pick out any moldy or mashed raspberries from the bunch so they don’t spoil the others?

I wish I would have read this yesterday as I hit up the local farmer’s market… The Harrisonburg Farmer’s Market is great and I try to go at least once a week.  They have a great selection of fresh fruits and veggies this time of year (corn, peaches, blackberries, squash..yum!)  but they also offer fresh-baked bread, cheeses, and the best homemade donuts you’ll ever taste!  I love that during the summer they are open Tuesday morning, Thursday evening, and Saturday morning…no excuse not to make it there during the week!

Yesterday I picked up some corn, squash, and splurged on blackberries…delicious…  I’ll post a recipe later in the week!  In the meantime, read these tips and then hit up your local farmer’s market and let me know what you find…!

