Well I am sticking to my word and getting back to lifting weights!  Weights are a necessary part of any fitness routine, improving strength, muscle tone, flexibility, and increasing your metabolic rate.  You actually burn more calories after weight training – I’ll lift to that!  I typically follow a push/pull weight method and rotate legs, biceps/back, and shoulders/chest triceps.

Yesterday I completed a kick-butt back/biceps routine.  I started off with a warm-up on the elliptical and then did some ab work.  I have found that I slack off on abs if I save them for last, so I try to start my routine with them or incorporate them throughout my other strength work.

I followed Naomi’s Core Conditioning Workout over at http://www.Onefitfoodie.com.

  1. Mountain Climbers – 10/side
  2.  Russian Twists with 10 lb Medicine Ball – 10/side
  3.  High Plank Hold on Medicine Ball – 10/side
  4.  High Plank Hold Should Taps – 10/side

Shew..It left me sweating and my abs shaking!

My workout had only begun as I conquered Jill’s Simple Back and Biceps workout found here!  I have a love/hate relationship with pull-ups (I have to do them assisted) but they really get your muscles working so I powered through…

I finished up my workout with 25 minutes on the stairmill.  Have you tried the stairmill before?!  Talk about sweating buckets…I was literally dripping on the trainers below me.   Nothing like a good weight pumping workout…I’ll keep you updated on future weight endeavors!

