Can you believe June has come and is almost gone?!

Me neither.

The end of June brings a big event here at AAH….Foodie Penpal Reveal!

I participated last month, but in case you forgot or missed it, Foodie Penpals is a program set up by Lindsay at the Lean Green Bean.  You are randomly paired with another blogger or reader and send them $15 worth of food goodies.  Then at the end of the month you reveal your awesome gifts!  You can find out more about the program at the Lean Green Bean.

This month, I had the privilege of having another Lindsey as my penpal – a reader Lindsey! – but just because she isn’t a blogger doesn’t mean she doesn’t send great gifts.

I actually got back from the beach to have the package waiting for me and couldn’t wait to dig into it.  I knew it was going to be good when the first thing I saw was chocolate.

She sent the cutest card and then had notes on each item explaining why she picked them!  Love.

In the stash:

-Green & Black Organic Milk Chocolate Bar this might already be gone :)

-Pacific Sea Salt Somersaults also gone – I’ve never tried these before but they interestingly delicious.  They reminded me of those little sesame stick snacks.  My sister tried them to and we both agreed that at first they aren’t crazy good but then the taste kind of grows on you.  The Somersault snacks are vegan, contain no nuts, but are made with sunflower seeds, whole wheat flour, and sesame seeds with 6g of protein, 3g of fiber, only 1 g of sugar and 150 calories per serving.   I’d love to try the other flavors they have like Cinnamon Crunch, Dutch Cocoa, or Santa Fe Salsa.

-Crispy Green Crispy Pineapple – FUN! Freeze dried fruit.  They remind me of the astronaut food you could buy in science museum gift shops.  Anyone used to buy that like me?! Definitely a low-calorie sweet treat (30 per bag/serving!) if you want something crunchy.  They have so many kinds of fruit too: strawberry, mango, banana, peaches.  I want it all.

-Sharkies  Organic Energy Sports Chews in Berry Blast – niccccee.  I have never tried Sharkies chews before but Lindsey said they were perfect fuel for long runs!  They are a ‘natural source of electrolytes with no trans fat or high fructose corn syrup.’  I am going to use them in my triathlon on Sunday so I’ll let you know how they are!

-Do More Bars in Raisin Peanut Cereal Bar and Orange Cranberry Pecan Cereal Bar – These are made right down the street from Lindsey!  They are gluten-free with about 140 calories per bar made with organic ingredients.  I’m going to bring them along with me on my road trip to my tri.  You can check out their website here if you want to try some yourself!

-Mountain Wildflowers Haw Creek Honey – again this is a local food find near Lindsey.  This will be great in tea and on toast! Peanut butter banana honey sandwiches anyone?

-Barney Butter Almond Butter and Justin’s Hazelnut Butter Blend – hoorah…love trying new peanut butters!  She said Justin’s Hazelnut Butter Blend tastes like nutella!  Oh baby.  Not to sound like a broken record, but I’m packing these for my trip to my triathlon.

I loved the variety of products Lindsey sent, especially since they were all new-to-me products.  I never realized how much I love trying new products till joining the Foodie Penpals!

Thanks so much for all the goodies Lindsey!  I encourage all foodies to participate next month :)

 

As I mentioned I have a triathlon tomorrow…Jamestown International Triathlon.  Not going to lie, I’m a little nervous about this one with my lack of hard-core training.  I’m just going into it to have fun and ‘enjoy the ride’ as opposed to get a certain time.  I’ll be up early tomorrow for the 7 AM start!  It will be fun to be racing in historic Williamsburg though and I’m looking forward to time off work and seeing friends this weekend.

By the way, did you all have those crazy storms last night?!  We did and it was scary driving home from work last night but thankfully the power did not go out here!  My cable is out though, bummer, no Saturday morning cartoons for me.

What is your favorite snack from childhood?  Astronaut food?!  Mine was probably goldfish or cheez-its.

