Woo Hoo…It is Breakfast Food Friday.  Claire over at Live and Love to Eat is hosting this awesome day.

I love me some breakfast food although as I mentioned, I didn’t always love it so much.  I don’t think I could pick a favorite breakfast food if I had too…  I love both the sweet and hearty…waffles and omelets…oatmeal and eggs.  Get in my belly.

This morning I had a bowl of banana oatmeal but yesterday I tried a new Paleo breakfast recipe Silver Dollar Pancakes from Elana’s Pantry.

I cut the recipe in 1/3 with a few changes.

Paleo Almond Meal Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 T unsweetened almond milk

1/3 cup almond meal

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup blueberries (optional)

Directions

1. Mix egg, vanilla, and almond milk in a bowl.

2. Add almond meal, cinnamon, and baking powder.  Stir to combine.  Add more milk if needed for smoother consistency.

3. Mix in blueberries if using.

4. Spray skillet with non-stick spray and pour on batter, cooking until bubbles form.  Flip. Cook until golden brown.

After I was done cooking the pancakes, I threw a sliced banana on the pan to top my pancakes.  This is seriously the best way to eat bananas. Do it now.

The pancakes turned out pretty good!  The flavor was spot on but the texture was a bit spongy to be honest.

So, since these are paleo am I sticking with my paleo diet adventure?  Well, no, not really.  I tried again yesterday morning but ended up getting that headache and ate some toast in the morning…much better.  For the rest of the day I was mostly following a paleo diet though!

I had a salad with chicken and a sweet potato for lunch but also munched on some carrots and hummus.  Hummus isn’t paleo though because it’s from chickpeas and they don’t think beans are ‘optimal foods’  (I know, that is crazy to me.)

Before work I had some chicken breast with broccoli slaw and during my shift I ate a KIND bar (the one Mariell sent me, I loved the flavor, not sure if it is paleo) and ordered a side salad with broccoli when the bar just wasn’t going to cut it.

Maybe if I start my day with some carbs, like my oatmeal this morning, I will be able to follow a Paleo diet throughout the day?  Maybe.  But don’t hold your breath ;)

I’ve got some breakfast foods to make!

What is your favorite breakfast food?!  Favorite place to eat breakfast? I couldn’t pick my favorite food but my favorite breakfast restaurant is the Little Grill in Harrisonburg or Cassett’s in Clarendon VA.