Well yesterday was Paleo Day #2 in my eating adventures.

It had a promising start…

Eggs with leftover mushrooms and broccoli.

Then I went to our local Gold’s Gym and got a gym membership for the month!  I can’t use my school gym anymore (boo!) and I just decided to bite the bullet and join Gold’s.  I need access to a pool with Jamestown Triathlon right around the corner – July 1st – and I’ll admit, I like having access to the classes and weights.  I think I could survive without a gym, but it does make working out a lot easier.

Anyway, I did their spin class (already making use of that membership!) and came home to whip up breakfast #2.

Tina’s “Oatmeal Minus the Oats” from Carrots ‘N’ Cake!

I’ve made it once before but thought I would make it again…perfectly paleo.

I followed her recipe almost exactly and topped mine with shredded coconut and more cinnamon.

It tastes pretty good with the cinnamon and banana, but is definitely no bowl of oatmeal.  It has a bit of a spongy texture and I think I would prefer it without the chopped walnuts.

An hour or so later and nothing would satisfy my hunger.  (Why? Oh, because my body was wanting carbs!)  I tried to hold out longer but ended up making an early lunch with leftover Coconut Almond Chicken and a sweet potato!

I was hoping the sweet potato would satisfy my need for carbs.

A couple of hours later…hungry again!

I threw together a random ‘snack’ or late lunch.  A salad with chicken breast, avocado, and lots of vegetables.

Delicious.

But ravenous hunger still ensued.  Enter a leftover Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin English Muffin.

Yup.  I gave in.  I ate carbs.  I felt much better.

Sometimes at night if I am hungry, I can get headaches which is how I felt yesterday afternoon.  I’m all about trying new things, etc etc BUT I’m not going to totally deprive my body or make myself sick just to try new things.

So back on the paleo bandwagon (seriously have you noticed everyone is doing it?) and I had a workout date with my friend Rachel at BodyPump!  I haven’t done BodyPump in years but it was a fun switch up to my weight routine.  I used to do BodyPump religiously twice a week 3 or 4 years ago before I branched out into doing my own weight routines.  We pumped it hard and I am sore today!

I packed my dinner to take back to her place and it included broccoli slaw with canned salmon, avocado, topped with spicy mustard and some Bragg’s Amino Acids.

Sorry no picture but it was good!

We also snacked on some pistachios and watched CMT’s Country Music Awards although we only half payed attention, gabbing away the whole time.

This morning I work up ravenous again with a headache.  I am not going to go full-force Paleo today to make sure I am giving my body the nutrients it needs.  I guess for some people Paleo really works but my body/mind just doesn’t seem happy with it…We’ll see what the day brings!

 

Have you had to give up on something to listen to your body? 

Have you gone without a gym membership?  Did you like it or hate it?!